Irish Soda Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2013
Worst "irish soda bread" ever, porportions are all wrong, way too much liquids making the dough way too sticky. way too many raisins. Adding the caraway seeds is a mistake. I was skeptical of the seeds with the raisins but decided to try it anyway and it turned out grose.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2013
Wow! I made it according to the instructions, minus 1 cup of raisins since I didn't have 3 cups. Came out perfect! Delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2012
This is the only Irish bread I have ever made or eaten. I skipped the raisons this time but I think I will try it with them next go around, other than that I followed the recipe. My wife and I think it turned out very good. We made Ruban Paninni with it the next night.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2012
I have baked this twice now, once in a round pan and it was just ok. The last two times though I have baked it in a cast iron pan and I used butter flavor crisco to prepare my pan. It baked up very nicely both times in the cast iron and had a better smell and flavor than in the aluminum cake pan. I also found that although I could use two percent low fat milk, it was less sticky when I tried to knead it if I used evaporatedmilk ( do not use condensed milk). It basically baked better in a cast iron no matter what milk I used.I rate it five stars
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by morgiana

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2012
This was my first taste of Irish soda bread, thought it was outstanding. Simple, easy to make and tasy, who could ask for more?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Subvet

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Islip Terrace, New York, USA
Living In: Princeton, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2012
Good but family didn't like it. Maybe too dense/heavy. Took it to work and it was devoured.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Commerce Township, Michigan, USA
Living In: Waukesha, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2012
This bread was great, but very heavy on the raisins.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DrSeussFreak

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Highland Park, Illinois, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2012
This was quick and easy to mix up and tasted good. I didn't really care for the taste of the caraway seeds so I would cut back or omit those next time, and I felt like 3 cups of raisins was a little too much, so I would cut back on those as well. I really enjoyed the taste and texture of the bread though, and would make it again with those changes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2012
Great with coffee!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2012
I am not a bread baker and not really even a bread eater, but I fixed this for a St. Patrick's Day dinner and I thought it was wonderful! The dough is very sticky to work with, but it was well worth it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 111-120 (of 492) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Amazingly Easy Irish Soda Bread

See how to make old-fashioned Irish soda bread.

Irresistible Irish Soda Bread

This soda bread is dense and moist, thanks to the tangy addition of buttermilk.

Irish Soda Bread Cookies

Turn the flavors of soda bread into quick-and-easy cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States