Irish Soda Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2014
This recipe is the best...not heavy like some Irish Bread. I added only 1-1/2 cups white raisins instead of 3 cups....really delicious! The caraway seeds add lots of flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Alexandria, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2014
Just made it ! Was outstanding. I only used 2cups of raisins, was plenty ! Will make for sure again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2014
I've made this bread over and over again, it is a good solid recipe, however I omit the raisins and caraway seed, I also substitute some dark lager beer for some of the buttermilk,(1/2 cup buttermilk and 3/4 cup beer, or the other way around, depends on my mood) it gives it a nice wheat flavor and the aroma is wonderful
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2014
A-MAZ-ING. Super easy, usually have most ingredients on hand (gotta remember to keep buttermilk in the fridge) and really tasty. Can't beat it for toasted breakfast bread although it is good as a side to a hearty soup or stew also. Here is how you deal with the sticky factor: scrape into your generously greased baking pan, spray entire top with cooking oil spray, lay a piece of plastic wrap over it and mold as needed. Remove plastic wrap, sprinkle with flour and make cut using a wetted sharp knife. Pop it in the oven. Return in an hour+ for mouthwatering goodness.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2014
Great easy and very versatile. I used 1 cup raisins, 1 cup of :dried cranberries and a handful of slivered almonds. I never use caraway seeds, as I don't like the taste. Never lasts as everyone on the family loves it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2014
Excellent ...the best !!! cindyjoy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2014
I made three loaves of this bread, but the third loaf I added chopped apricots & some orange peel it gave a nice flavor. I gave a loaf to my friend and she thought it was amazing. This will have to go on my Facebook page.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Recipes by Jacqui

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Vero Beach, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2014
This recipe is "Tried and True" I used a scant 2 cups of "plumped in hot water" raisins. I used 1 teaspoon of caraway. Next time I will use either 1 1/2 teaspoons or 2 teaspoons caraway. This batter was not like cookie dough but more like a thick cake batter. I made it in my cast iron skillet but next time may use a spring-form pan. It was delicious and got rave reviews! Consider sprinkling the top with confectioners next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2014
It was very good. I did cover the top with foil for the last 10 mins or so. Used the bread for maple turkey sandwiches two days later and was still yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DenaJ

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2014
First time making this and will NOT be my last. The only thing I changed was 1 1/2 cup raisins and 1 1/2 cup currants... Received fabulous compliments from co-workers and friends. Thank you SO much for sharing this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by hotmamaduck

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 489) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Amazingly Easy Irish Soda Bread

See how to make old-fashioned Irish soda bread.

Irresistible Irish Soda Bread

This soda bread is dense and moist, thanks to the tangy addition of buttermilk.

Irish Soda Bread Cookies

Turn the flavors of soda bread into quick-and-easy cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States