Irish Soda Bread in a Skillet Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2006
As another reviewer said, this is a great last minute recipe! I used cider vinegar and added some sugar and a little handful of craisins. I also served it with honey butter. It was a big hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by klzee

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by dayna~rae
Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2007
I loved the ease of this and thought the taste was wonderful! I used distilled white vinegar (that's all I had) and added a tsp. of powdered buttermilk. I am rating this 5 stars but my 8yo said it was "3 and 1/2 because its kind of hard and has a flour taste". Kids! (; Thanks for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dayna~rae

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Belton, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2005
This recipe works wonderfully, even when you're in a hurry. I've made it twice now, once with the sugar and once without, and it's fine either way. My husband, the soda-bread expert here, had me bake it for close to 30 minutes, so it would be very crusty; and that worked well. I meant to sprinkle poppy seeds on the dough before I baked it, but I forgot; so I just coated the finished bread lightly with butter and sprinkled the seeds on then--worked fine and looked great. You don't need a cast-iron pan. I just used an aluminum pie plate with a touch of Pam, and no problem at all. Thanks for the recipe, CG!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
91 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Melbourne Beach, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2007
This was so simple! Welove it. I used "Spelt"flour and Red Wine vinager. It was great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2007
I wanted a soda bread for dinner which was going to be done in half an hour. All the other recipes used buttermilk and I had none so I tried this. I read the reviews so I added a couple of Tablespoons sugar, used red wine vinegar, and tossed in a teaspoon of rosemary and mint. Absolutely delicious!! I cooked it for 20 minutes tho' and it almost could have used a minute or two more. Can't wait to try it again with other spice or herb combinations.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
58 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Poulsbo, Washington, USA
Living In: Wasilla, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2003
This quick bread saved me for St. Patrick's Day dinner, when I forgot to bake bread ahead of time. I didn't have an iron skillet, so I used a none stick cake pan. I dressed up the flavor by serving honey-butter with it. Even my finicky child loved it! Thank you for saving the day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2007
Just anote make sure that your skillet is seasoned well. If not your bread will tast like the skillit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2007
By far the easiest recipe ive seen here, and delicious too. it tastes awesome with raisins and i add a quarter cup of sugar, sometimes a pinch of cinnamin.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2007
Fast, easy and delicious. Made with variations: parmesan, flax, coriander and nutmeg on top. My kids love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2008
I made this tonight and it was a hit. It is so easy and fantastic with a little butter! Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JulieCooks

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 114) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Amazingly Easy Irish Soda Bread

See how to make old-fashioned Irish soda bread.

Irresistible Irish Soda Bread

This soda bread is dense and moist, thanks to the tangy addition of buttermilk.

Irish Soda Bread Cookies

Turn the flavors of soda bread into quick-and-easy cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States