Irish Soda Bread in a Skillet Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2010
1st of all, no one should have rated this recipe less than 4 stars. As a professional bread baker & instructor, I find most people measure incorrectly. Remember to use Dry meas. cups for dry goods & a liquid measuring cup for liquids. Also because of the difference in the characteristics of flour, as well as variations in the atmosphere you should always use less liquid and add as needed. Soda bread is very different from any other bread you can find in the world. It's round, with a cross cut in the top, and it has a velvety texture, quite unlike yeast bread, and the most distinctive and delicious taste. Always slice paper thin, never thick, and when buttered, it is one of the best breaksfast breads, and delicious toasted. I made this recipe 3 times. 1st AS WRITTEN and it was very good. 2nd, used buttermilk, which I prefer, baked on a baking sheet, 3rd. Added 2 t. sugar, 1 c. raisins. Delicious! Gave it 5 stars because the basic recipe is good and I was able to alter to change to my liking. I preferred buttermilk, cut a X on top of bread, bake in a sheet pan, dusted with cornmeal, at 375 for 30 min., remove from oven, brush with beaten egg (for color) and baked an additional 5-8 min. Icc234, you must have measured incorrectly. Like the recommendation from a reviewer to use a fork to stir. I recommend to start with 3/4 c. milk, and add as need. I used the 1 c. of b.milk. Dust hands w/flour, LIGHTLY flour work surface. Knead dough 5-8 times. BAKING IS A SCIENCE.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
414 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2005
This recipe works wonderfully, even when you're in a hurry. I've made it twice now, once with the sugar and once without, and it's fine either way. My husband, the soda-bread expert here, had me bake it for close to 30 minutes, so it would be very crusty; and that worked well. I meant to sprinkle poppy seeds on the dough before I baked it, but I forgot; so I just coated the finished bread lightly with butter and sprinkled the seeds on then--worked fine and looked great. You don't need a cast-iron pan. I just used an aluminum pie plate with a touch of Pam, and no problem at all. Thanks for the recipe, CG!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
92 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Melbourne Beach, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2007
I wanted a soda bread for dinner which was going to be done in half an hour. All the other recipes used buttermilk and I had none so I tried this. I read the reviews so I added a couple of Tablespoons sugar, used red wine vinegar, and tossed in a teaspoon of rosemary and mint. Absolutely delicious!! I cooked it for 20 minutes tho' and it almost could have used a minute or two more. Can't wait to try it again with other spice or herb combinations.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
59 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Poulsbo, Washington, USA
Living In: Wasilla, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2009
Yum! I used 1/2 cup sour cream and 1/2 cup half & half in lieu of the milk, still used vinegar. Also substituted 1/2 cup whole wheat for some of the flour. Turned out great! Not heavy like some recipes. I think the key is not to handle this much, just stir it together until it is coated good and form it into a loaf. Cooked for almost 20 mins, crust was great. Have tried other soda recipes, but this one has been the best so far.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2006
As another reviewer said, this is a great last minute recipe! I used cider vinegar and added some sugar and a little handful of craisins. I also served it with honey butter. It was a big hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by klzee

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2008
Terrifically easy and tastes wonderful. I used buttermilk and added raisins and sprinkled caraway seeds on top. I tried it on a cookie sheet with parchment paper and in an iron skillet. Both worked fine. However, both needed more than 15 minutes. I I needed 25 minutes in the skillet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2008
Simple and yummy. My tweaks: raisins and 1/4 c. sugar. I also let the vinegar take over the milk overnight and it made a thick buttermilk which really moistened the bread. I served for breakfast on St. Pat's day with cinnamon butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2003
This quick bread saved me for St. Patrick's Day dinner, when I forgot to bake bread ahead of time. I didn't have an iron skillet, so I used a none stick cake pan. I dressed up the flavor by serving honey-butter with it. Even my finicky child loved it! Thank you for saving the day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2004
There was definately room for improvement. Recipe needed to specify small cast iron skillet.However it was edible.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2010
I am always looking for a quick supper bread besides the regular biscuits or rolls. I was really not expecting much when I tried this recipe. The first time I tried it I followed the recipe but since I did not have a cast iron pan on hand I used a tin pie plate. I left the bread in for half an hour and it was okay, but it stuck to the bottom and the middle was a bit doughy. Next time I found the cast iron pan, slightly greased it and added a half cup of grated old cheese to the flour mix. I sprinkled caraway seeds on top and waited patiently hoping for a good result. When I took the bread out after 25 minutes it was for all purposes...perfect! Wow! I would serve this to company. I am looking forward to playing around with this recipe and trying different fillings and spices. I also added 1/2 tsp. of baking powder the second time and the bread was light and the crust was crunchy and delicious. When it came out I lighty patted it with butter and it was beautiful as well as tasty. Thank you for the wonderful recipe. I figure it is going to be a staple here for this family and I am no longer going to buy those specialty breads at the supermarket. There is no need to! You can change this in a hundred ways and have a new product each time. I really recommend using the cast iron pan though. Quite a difference in the whole appearace of the bread as well as how wonderful the bottom browned! Thanks again! Love it and how easy is that!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Judy Rushton-Ross

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Truro, Nova Scotia, Canada
Living In: River John, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 116) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Amazingly Easy Irish Soda Bread

See how to make old-fashioned Irish soda bread.

Irresistible Irish Soda Bread

This soda bread is dense and moist, thanks to the tangy addition of buttermilk.

Irish Soda Bread Cookies

Turn the flavors of soda bread into quick-and-easy cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States