Irish Soda Bread in a Skillet Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2010
I made this for St. Patricks day at work, it came out great. The only thing I found was that the milk didn't want to curdle at first, so I heated it on the stove for a few minutes and that did the trick. Not sure if it would have come out as good with uncurdled milk?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Roslyn, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2010
1st of all, no one should have rated this recipe less than 4 stars. As a professional bread baker & instructor, I find most people measure incorrectly. Remember to use Dry meas. cups for dry goods & a liquid measuring cup for liquids. Also because of the difference in the characteristics of flour, as well as variations in the atmosphere you should always use less liquid and add as needed. Soda bread is very different from any other bread you can find in the world. It's round, with a cross cut in the top, and it has a velvety texture, quite unlike yeast bread, and the most distinctive and delicious taste. Always slice paper thin, never thick, and when buttered, it is one of the best breaksfast breads, and delicious toasted. I made this recipe 3 times. 1st AS WRITTEN and it was very good. 2nd, used buttermilk, which I prefer, baked on a baking sheet, 3rd. Added 2 t. sugar, 1 c. raisins. Delicious! Gave it 5 stars because the basic recipe is good and I was able to alter to change to my liking. I preferred buttermilk, cut a X on top of bread, bake in a sheet pan, dusted with cornmeal, at 375 for 30 min., remove from oven, brush with beaten egg (for color) and baked an additional 5-8 min. Icc234, you must have measured incorrectly. Like the recommendation from a reviewer to use a fork to stir. I recommend to start with 3/4 c. milk, and add as need. I used the 1 c. of b.milk. Dust hands w/flour, LIGHTLY flour work surface. Knead dough 5-8 times. BAKING IS A SCIENCE.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
420 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2010
This an awesome, easy bread to make. I used half buttermilk and half milk with about a teaspoon of crumbled rosemary. This one will be a mainstay.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jacqueline

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Republic, Missouri, USA
Living In: Warsaw, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2010
Made two changes, then I was happy with it. Replace 1/2 cup milk with 1/2 sour cream, and baked for an extra 10 mins. First time I baked according to directions and got a nice wet dough center! But it is a good, fast bread. Nice chewy texture, flavor is pretty blank slate so you can add just about anything to it. It is a good bread to make when you are not in your own kitchen and either have no yeast or no loaf pan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by missivy

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2010
I am always looking for a quick supper bread besides the regular biscuits or rolls. I was really not expecting much when I tried this recipe. The first time I tried it I followed the recipe but since I did not have a cast iron pan on hand I used a tin pie plate. I left the bread in for half an hour and it was okay, but it stuck to the bottom and the middle was a bit doughy. Next time I found the cast iron pan, slightly greased it and added a half cup of grated old cheese to the flour mix. I sprinkled caraway seeds on top and waited patiently hoping for a good result. When I took the bread out after 25 minutes it was for all purposes...perfect! Wow! I would serve this to company. I am looking forward to playing around with this recipe and trying different fillings and spices. I also added 1/2 tsp. of baking powder the second time and the bread was light and the crust was crunchy and delicious. When it came out I lighty patted it with butter and it was beautiful as well as tasty. Thank you for the wonderful recipe. I figure it is going to be a staple here for this family and I am no longer going to buy those specialty breads at the supermarket. There is no need to! You can change this in a hundred ways and have a new product each time. I really recommend using the cast iron pan though. Quite a difference in the whole appearace of the bread as well as how wonderful the bottom browned! Thanks again! Love it and how easy is that!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Judy Rushton-Ross

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Truro, Nova Scotia, Canada
Living In: River John, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2009
Crusty, dense, and chewy. I left it in for 30 minutes instead of the recipe's 15. It was delicious hot from the oven with butter. The dough was quite sticky, as many have mentioned, so I added a bit of extra flour before attempting to shape the dough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by teacupnosaucer

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2009
I tried this recipe earlier tonight as an extra side to go with tonight's dinner (Irish Chicken curry stew)and wow what a good pairing. I Did not modify or stray from the original posted recipe at all. I found it to be very moist and rather flavorful for a basic version of one of my all time favorites. This turned out great and find myself with half a loaf left over for tomorrow's breakfast. Cheers~!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jonny_Anvil

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2009
Do not recommend...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2009
This was very good- I used 1/4 cup sugar, as I wanted my soda Bread to be sweet. My Cast Iron skillet is a big one (12 inch I think), so it ended up being more biscotti-shaped when sliced (and actually made awesome toast!). Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kennewick, Washington, USA
Living In: Lincoln, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2009
Yum this is good.I didn't bake in skillet. I baked in a nine inch pie pan. Served with Colcannon from this site for St. Patties Day. This bread is really delicious with some butter and jam on it. Very easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Scott, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 116) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Celebrate Spring Salads
Celebrate Spring Salads

The most-tender new vegetables are here just in time for early spring salads!

Hearty Potato Soups
Hearty Potato Soups

Creamy, comforting potato soups will warm you up.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Amazingly Easy Irish Soda Bread

See how to make old-fashioned Irish soda bread.

Irresistible Irish Soda Bread

This soda bread is dense and moist, thanks to the tangy addition of buttermilk.

Irish Soda Bread Cookies

Turn the flavors of soda bread into quick-and-easy cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States