Irish Soda Bread in a Skillet Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2010
This was amazing. I was looking for something to make with all the extra flour I had, and no yeast. I added two table spoons of sugar to the mix, and I accidentally used Rice vinegar, (Still came out phenomenal) I made this quickly twice after. I have been cutting the slices around 1/4th and inch and my family is loving the fresh bakery smell and fresh bed taste to our lunch. THANK YOU!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2010
I would give this 5 stars, but there is not enough flour - need to increase to 2 1/2 C. I also added 2 T sugar; it doesn't add ALOT of sweetness, but makes me happy. I also had to increase baking time to 20 minutes, but that may be just for my oven and not anyone else. ALSO there is no size cast skillet specified in directions - use an 8-inch; 9-inch is just too big. I have made this several times already. It's wonderful right out of the oven and toasts up nice in the toaster (if there is any left over - LOL).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Linda G.

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Conklin, New York, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2010
I made the modifications Marg put..I did 1 cup buttermilk because I happened to have some, 2 tsp sugar and 1/2 cup raisins. My husbands words were "this is the best bread I've ever had". Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by TTV78
Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2010
So easy and so good! We really enjoyed having this bread (a thinly sliced, toasted, and buttered perfection!) with our corned beef and cabbage dinner. I followed the directions exactly and it turned out a beautiful round loaf on the skillet. I did sprinkle some poppy seeds over the top before baking for a little character. :) It needed about 25 min in the oven, but I think that was because I didn't make a larger and flatter disc. Will try that next time. Thank you for this quick recipe! Will definitely make again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TTV78

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Denver, Colorado, USA
Living In: Milpitas, California, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2010
A twist on this (on my 3rd variation-on-a-theme) was to bake this as biscuits that my wife, my neighbors, and I all enjoyed...I had never baked biscuits from scratch but this tasted enough like biscuits I've liked that I experimented.. I've made Irish Soda Bread for years, but always in pie tins... using a cast iron skillet or pizza stone works much better...I may toss my pie tins away! The lower yield of this recipe also appeals as I am an empty nester. So here are changes to bake biscuits based on this. I used a pizza stone instead of skillet for more biscuits at a time: the stone gave room for 4 largish biscuits at a time. I apologize if I've changed this so much that this doesn't belong here. I used a full teaspoon of baking soda, and added a full teaspoon of baking powder too. I also added 2 tablespoons of sugar, and 2 tablespoons of melted butter. Finally, I used buttermilk instead of milk (but still added the vinegar to it ahead of time.) I basically prepared the dough as described, then I floured a surface, and rolled the dough into 7 or 8 balls...flattened them on the flour surface, folded them, reshaped into balls again, and then repeated twice (so each ball had been refolded and reformed three times...this only took a few moments.) I then flattened them, brushed a little melted butter on the top of each, and baked half of them at a time, 400 degree oven, on the pizza stone, for exactly 10 minutes. Yields 8 biscuits (or mini loaves) GREAT!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Ramon, California, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2010
This is so easy, fast, and GOOD! Made it twice, first time as written, second with 50/50 all-purpose flour and oat flour and both were great. I'm planning to make this at least once a week to help save on the cost of expensive oat bread. Also, I made a butter-honey-rosemary garlic spread this really makes it awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2010
8" fry pan.....followed instructions.....perfect!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2010
This is my first review on allrecipes. I love this recipe! Thank you for sharing. The only thing I changed is I used half whole wheat flour/half all-purpose. It is a great base, easy to remember and easy to add goodies to.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2010
I can't believe this WAS as easy as IT REALLY IS!! Mine took about 30 minutes to bake total. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2010
Excellent. I took the suggestion to add 1/2 cup of cream & 1/2 cup of sour cream, instead of just the milk,letting it sit overnight in refrigerator. I also added 1/2 cup of golden raisens to the dough and kneaded them by hand.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Clifton Heights, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Voorhees, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 116) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Amazingly Easy Irish Soda Bread

See how to make old-fashioned Irish soda bread.

Irresistible Irish Soda Bread

This soda bread is dense and moist, thanks to the tangy addition of buttermilk.

Irish Soda Bread Cookies

Turn the flavors of soda bread into quick-and-easy cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States