Irish Soda Bread in a Skillet Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2011
The baking time on this is obviously a misprint. It takes much longer than 15 minutes to bake, more like 30 minutes at least, until it is browned, not just firm to the touch. Otherwise, it tastes good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2011
Horror of horrors, the bakery was closed for vacation. I was looking for a simple and quick bread to tide me over when I found this. I've now made this recipe 3 times in the past 2 weeks, with the only difference being that I add a little more flour to keep it from sticking and different spices to flavor it. It's so good that my housemate ate half a loaf so she wouldn't be tempted anymore. Simple, delicious, and easy to customize to one's own tastes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Fae

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2011
I made two loaves. The one I kept per instructions was bland and frankly tasteless. The second load I added a 1/4 cup of sugar and a handful of dried cranberries. That really woke it up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2011
Very good.. Added a little more flour and sugar,I even doubled the recipe and once gone in no time... Going to try next time with raisins and cinnamon..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2011
What a bummer!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2011
It was very plain but a good base for honey butter or butter and jam. My husband liked it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2011
Loved it. We doubled the batch and made it in the cast iron skillet. Had to add about 21 minutes to the cooking time. Also, we melted butter over the top. Even when I accidently tossed in cocoa powder for the log cake we were making and was unable to get quite all of it out, it turned out lovely. (Although it may have been a bit more brown!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WesternStars

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Fran
Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2011
Fantastic recipe. I substituted about 2/3 cups of whole wheat flour, added a dash more salt and baking soda to accommodate, and added 1 tablespoon maple syrup just to add a hint of sweetness. I increased the baking time to 25 as others have suggested, and it was a delicious accompaniment to leek and potato soup for St. Paddy's Day dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Fran

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2011
perfect, but added a teaspoon of sugar and made some honey butter.. delicious
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2011
This bread was pretty good. I followed the recipe but had to add more flour...it was very gooey. Next time I will add the sugar that someone said to try. Also may try a bit more salt and the buttermilk maybe. It had a bland taste. But of course butter made it better. Ate it with our Guiness corned beef and cabbage and the bread was very good dipped in the juices from the meat! It was super fast and easy to make. Perfect for when you need a quick bread with dinner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lscarb2

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fort Collins, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 140) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Delightful Summer Parties
Delightful Summer Parties

All the little bites, cocktails, casual dishes, and desserts you want for your next get-together.

Banana Bread
Banana Bread

Bake those overripe bananas into a delicious, easy loaf of quick bread.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Amazingly Easy Irish Soda Bread

See how to make old-fashioned Irish soda bread.

Chef John's Irish Soda Bread

Classic recipe for an Irish quick bread.

Irresistible Irish Soda Bread

This soda bread is dense and moist, thanks to the tangy addition of buttermilk.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States