Irish Soda Bread in a Skillet Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2011
Very good will try and add extra ingredients next time
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Boquete, Chiriquí, Panama

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2011
Love this bread! Lactose intolerance in my house, so I used the Smart Balance FF Lactose Free Omega 3 milk (worked wonderfully), I also added 1 tbsp of sugar. I don't have an iron skillet, so I used a pampered chef stone (deep dish baker) I had to increase the bake time to 25 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2011
This looked terrible going in the oven, too gooey, I divided the dough, added some rye flour to on,e and some all purpose flour and some raisins to the other. Flopped (yes, flopped!) both in the same cake pan, basted 2x with butter, baked for 25 minutes....Oh, was it GOOOOOOD with a pat of butter spread on!!!!! Will make again, pretty easy!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2010
just made this bread, smells awesome in my house today. wanted a bread to go with homemade chicken chili that I have in the crockpot, but did not have yeast in the house so I tried this. great idea! I did double the recipe to better fit in my skillet came out great! Thanks so much for posting this! I will be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: North Adams, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Ladson, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2010
So easy and quick, and my family loves it! It is my "go-to" bread when I need something quick and don't have a lot of ingredients on hand. I tried it with 1/2 whole wheat and 1/2 AP flour, and even though its not as good for you, it comes out better when just using AP flour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2010
i loved this. I added cornmeal to it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2010
Been a long time sence I ate it, an my wife never has till tonight she rave about how good it is an quick to make/cook it. u can change it up with 1/3 each sour cream,condensed milk,buttermilk room temp,mix well
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Gladewater, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2010
I don't bake, but decided to make this for company to serve with a winter vegetable turkey soup. So I was relieved and thrilled to serve, what turned out to be, a delicious loaf perfect for our meal - with lots of butter, of course. We served thick slices of this hardy bread to a complimentary audience. I'd definitely make it again for stew or soup; it only takes minutes to prepare and it tastes wonderful. It reminds me of old world bread I've had in the UK. I used sea salt (2 tsp.) and hard whole wheat flour instead of iodized salt and all-purpose flour, but I stayed close to the recipe otherwise.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Nelson, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2010
This was amazing. I was looking for something to make with all the extra flour I had, and no yeast. I added two table spoons of sugar to the mix, and I accidentally used Rice vinegar, (Still came out phenomenal) I made this quickly twice after. I have been cutting the slices around 1/4th and inch and my family is loving the fresh bakery smell and fresh bed taste to our lunch. THANK YOU!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2010
I would give this 5 stars, but there is not enough flour - need to increase to 2 1/2 C. I also added 2 T sugar; it doesn't add ALOT of sweetness, but makes me happy. I also had to increase baking time to 20 minutes, but that may be just for my oven and not anyone else. ALSO there is no size cast skillet specified in directions - use an 8-inch; 9-inch is just too big. I have made this several times already. It's wonderful right out of the oven and toasts up nice in the toaster (if there is any left over - LOL).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Linda G.

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Conklin, New York, USA

Displaying results 61-70 (of 114) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Amazingly Easy Irish Soda Bread

See how to make old-fashioned Irish soda bread.

Irresistible Irish Soda Bread

This soda bread is dense and moist, thanks to the tangy addition of buttermilk.

Irish Soda Bread Cookies

Turn the flavors of soda bread into quick-and-easy cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States