Irish Soda Bread in a Skillet Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2011
Loved it. We doubled the batch and made it in the cast iron skillet. Had to add about 21 minutes to the cooking time. Also, we melted butter over the top. Even when I accidently tossed in cocoa powder for the log cake we were making and was unable to get quite all of it out, it turned out lovely. (Although it may have been a bit more brown!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WesternStars

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Fran
Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2011
Fantastic recipe. I substituted about 2/3 cups of whole wheat flour, added a dash more salt and baking soda to accommodate, and added 1 tablespoon maple syrup just to add a hint of sweetness. I increased the baking time to 25 as others have suggested, and it was a delicious accompaniment to leek and potato soup for St. Paddy's Day dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Fran

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2011
perfect, but added a teaspoon of sugar and made some honey butter.. delicious
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kyles mom
Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2011
This bread was pretty good. I followed the recipe but had to add more flour...it was very gooey. Next time I will add the sugar that someone said to try. Also may try a bit more salt and the buttermilk maybe. It had a bland taste. But of course butter made it better. Ate it with our Guiness corned beef and cabbage and the bread was very good dipped in the juices from the meat! It was super fast and easy to make. Perfect for when you need a quick bread with dinner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lscarb2

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fort Collins, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2011
Easy and tasty. I substituted buttermilk for the milk per some of the comments here, but that was the only modification, and it was very good. I served it with Beer Braised Irish Stew and Colcannon from this site. Great St. Patrick's Day meal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CATLOVERGIRL

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Gobles, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2011
Very tasty! I've never had Irish Soda Bread before, so I had nothing to compare to, but my Irish husband really liked it. I added a tbsp of sugar and since I don't have an iron skillet, I baked on a cookie sheet w/ parchment paper for 25 minutes. Once it was done, I brushed it w/ melted butter and sprinkled carraway seeds on top. Was great with our beef stew for St. Pat's!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by youngwoman

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2011
Mmmm simple and delicious. Much like a native american pan bread. My milk didn't really curdle and it was still delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2011
It's very easy. I took the notes of Marg, and added sugar, didn't have buttermilk. I lowered the temp to 375, cooked for 30 minutes, removed, brushed with a beaten egg, and cooked another 5 minutes.I added raisins. I didn't have an iron skillet so I used a glass cake pan, and it turned out very good. I added 2 tablespoons of sugar, also.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Independence, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2011
Okay...after doing A LOT of research and trying a couple different recipes from this site, I have to report that THIS is the real deal! Utterly delicious, melt-in-your-mouth tender and velvety soda bread, just as it's intended to be. I could hardly stop myself eating it! Substitute buttermilk for an absolutely authentic bread...and leave out the sugar and raisins you may have been led to believe are in soda bread--to include them would result in a bread called "spotted dog" or "railway cake". This bread gets a great big *smoooch*!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Springfield, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2011
Not sure on this one yet. Just tried it for the first time, and it didn't quite work out. I didn't add quite all of the milk, as it seemed very moist to me after adding about 80% of it. However, the bread didn't end up expanding/rising very well, and after bakinhg it for about 22 minutes at 400F, I figured it must be done, took it out, cut it in half, and the center (I'd say about 25% of the mass) was completely unbaked. I put it back in the oven for another 12 minutes or so, and that seemed to bake it *almost* through, and is still OK on the crust. So that was about 34-35 minutes in total, where the recipe calls for only 15 minutes. I'll try again, as the taste is good, but next time I'll just go ahead and add all of the milk, as perhaps it was too dry this time, and that caused it to not expand properly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 114) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Amazingly Easy Irish Soda Bread

See how to make old-fashioned Irish soda bread.

Irresistible Irish Soda Bread

This soda bread is dense and moist, thanks to the tangy addition of buttermilk.

Irish Soda Bread Cookies

Turn the flavors of soda bread into quick-and-easy cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States