Irish Soda Bread in a Skillet Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2011
This bread was pretty good and very easy to make. I think this bread would be perfect paired with soup or a main dish with gravy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2011
Great, simple to make
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2011
This bread is quick, easy, and delicious. I have been playing with the recipe and made these breads that everyone enjoyed. (1) Added 2 T ground Flax, 1/3 C ground Pecans, 3 T Sugar, 2 t Cinnamon, 1/2 t Nutmeg, increased baking soda to 1 t due to heaviness of flax & ground nuts, the bread tastes like Cinnamon Rolls. (2) Added 1 T Italian Seasoning, 2 t Onion Powder, 2 t Garlic Powder and the kids loved it on Italian Dinner night. I have used an 8" cake pan instead of cast iron skillet, everything baked great. Try it, you get a fantastic loaf of bread without all the fat from baking powder biscuits or all the waiting time involved with yeast bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2011
So easy and delicous! I followed the recipe as written and it came our perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Webster, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Shawnee, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2011
The baking time on this is obviously a misprint. It takes much longer than 15 minutes to bake, more like 30 minutes at least, until it is browned, not just firm to the touch. Otherwise, it tastes good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2011
Horror of horrors, the bakery was closed for vacation. I was looking for a simple and quick bread to tide me over when I found this. I've now made this recipe 3 times in the past 2 weeks, with the only difference being that I add a little more flour to keep it from sticking and different spices to flavor it. It's so good that my housemate ate half a loaf so she wouldn't be tempted anymore. Simple, delicious, and easy to customize to one's own tastes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Fae

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2011
I made two loaves. The one I kept per instructions was bland and frankly tasteless. The second load I added a 1/4 cup of sugar and a handful of dried cranberries. That really woke it up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2011
Very good.. Added a little more flour and sugar,I even doubled the recipe and once gone in no time... Going to try next time with raisins and cinnamon..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2011
What a bummer!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Noonie

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2011
It was very plain but a good base for honey butter or butter and jam. My husband liked it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 114) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Amazingly Easy Irish Soda Bread

See how to make old-fashioned Irish soda bread.

Irresistible Irish Soda Bread

This soda bread is dense and moist, thanks to the tangy addition of buttermilk.

Irish Soda Bread Cookies

Turn the flavors of soda bread into quick-and-easy cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States