Irish Soda Bread in a Skillet Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2013
Just made this bread last night, as an after thought, and it was wonderful...after I baked it 30 minutes instead of 15. This is a huge keeper and will be passing this on to as many as are interested!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Rochester, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Piedmont, South Dakota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2013
Lucky me was out of my usual milk but had an entire quart of buttermilk so that's what I used in this recipe. One reviewer's suggestion was to use a bit of sugar so I added 2 teaspoons and also a cup of raisins. I baked it on a lightly sprayed pizza pan for about 30 minutes and it came out beautifully cooked and golden brown. I melted a tablespoon of butter, added about 3 or 4 tablespoons buttermilk and a tablespoon of sugar and brushed it all over. I know I deviated from the original recipe but likely would not have made my changes had it not been for the hints of other reviewers. Because of all of those reviews, I have a lovely Irish Soda Bread recipe. It's super easy to do; no fuss, no muss. Just mix, shape and bake. We have enough left over to toast and have with our AM coffee. I am very happy with the end result. MANY thanks to all who "helped" me find a great recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gail Cobile

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Spotsylvania, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2013
Really easy and quick! My husband really liked it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SarahStumphf

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Middletown, New York, USA
Living In: Clarksville, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2012
I really put a twist on it, but I wanted a sweet more dessert or breakfast like bread. Preheat oven to 375. I changed dry ingredients to 3 cups flour, 1/2 cup unrefined cane sugar, 1 1/2 tsp baking soda, 2 tsp baking powder, 1 tbs cinnamon. Wet ingredients 1 1/3 milk, 2 tsp vinegar. I did not knead it, but I did use kitchen aid bread paddle to stir. I put he loaf in a cast iron dutch oven. shook poppy seeds on top and baked it for 30 minutes. Take it out of oven brush with egg white, shake more cane sugar, bake or 5 more minutes...yummm!!! It turned out perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Raphael Christine

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2012
I will be using this recipe regularly. I love baking bread the old fashioned way, but as a single mom working multiple jobs time to do so is very hard to find. I tried this last night, am making it again tonight...it is easy-peasy, delightful, and hearty. I used bread flour as I had it on hand, and white wine vinegar. Last night I made recipe exactly as stated, and the loaf stood no chance of surviving past supper. I rubbed the top with real butter, and that was all we needed on it! Tonight I am feeling experimental, so I've added some parsley, basil, and a sprinkling of parmesan into the recipe...hoping the texture and all stays the same. I can tell this will lend itself well to experimenting! And..when I am wanting to celebrate our Irish heritage, a loaf of proper, plain 'ol Soda bread can now be whipped up with ease. Per the one review I did make sure I wasn't lazy and actually used my dry measurement utensils for dry goods, and my liquid ones for the milk/vinegar...as I said, I've not a complaint in teh world. Dough is sticky wet when you put it in the pan, but don't worry about it-stick it in the oven and let it go. My stove did take 25 mins.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tina Gehlbach

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2012
This was excellent! I just made a small batch tonight (halving the recipe) because I made chili only to realize I didn't have any bread. I was surprised at the texture--it was soft and chewy. The only other time I tried making a soda bread a while back--I'm not sure how I screwed it up--but it was crumbly--not like a bread at all, but this was really delicious and quick and easy to make. I did preheat my cast iron pan and added a little shortening to the pan so the bread would have a nice crispy bottom.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2012
Mine looked nothing like any of the pictures... :( this is the first time I'm making soda bread and the first time I'm eating it, so not sure what it is supposed to be like. I had to use half whole wheat flour as I was running out of ap flour... Not sure. Think i will try out a few other soda bread recipes and see what I think of this one at a later time...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by merlion

Cooking Level: Beginning

Reviewed: May 24, 2012
Turned out great, but needed 25-30 mins in my stove. I added some seasoning to the bottom of the pan (roasted garlic, rosemary and sea salt) so when it came out, it tasted like the dipping bread from Macaroni Grill. yum! I added grated parmesan cheese but couldn't really taste it. Next time, I'm adding it to the top crust. I agree with others - there is ALOT you can do with this recipe to easily change it up. Makes me want to buy several cast iron skillets! (FYI, USE A MED SIZE, NOT LARGE - IT'S THE PERFECT SIZE FOR THIS.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2012
This bread reminds me of a bread my uncle used to make called "poor-mans" bread."AWESOME!!"
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by poozer

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2012
I'm not familiar with Irish Soda Bread, so after reading through the recipes I chose this one. It didn't add a lot of sugar like many other recipes, and the idea of baking in a cast iron skillet appealed to me. The recipe did seem to work real well, it was fast, easy and baked well in the skillet. I guess I am just not that big of a fan of this type of bread, I found it sort of dry with not much flavor. Maybe it would be better as a "sopper", as in sopping up stew or soup juices. I ate t it fresh with butter and toasted with butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cjucoder

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 140) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken On the Grill
Chicken On the Grill

Something about the grill's heat brings out the best flavor in the simplest chicken recipe.

Summer Desserts
Summer Desserts

We have over 700 dessert recipes just for summer fun.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Amazingly Easy Irish Soda Bread

See how to make old-fashioned Irish soda bread.

Chef John's Irish Soda Bread

Classic recipe for an Irish quick bread.

Irresistible Irish Soda Bread

This soda bread is dense and moist, thanks to the tangy addition of buttermilk.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States