Irish Soda Bread in a Skillet Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2015
This was great bread. I've never had Irish Soda bread before but this was great. It only took about 6 minutes to make it up, dump in skillet and bake. I don't make bread because I don't have the patience but I can make this!!! Took some of the reviewers suggestions, added a little baking powder, a little sugar, butter on top...otherwise as written. A keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by OregonRocks
Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2015
I to tweeked this recipe just a little. I didn't have vinegar so I used home brewed kombucha and whole wheat flour it turned out fantastic. Yumyum
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by OregonRocks
Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2015
I baked it on a cookie sheet and added raisins and 2 teaspoons of sugar, as others suggested. Tasted great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Elleünamé Mágeiras

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2014
I've made this a few times and followed the recipe. I love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Regina, Saskatchewan, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2014
Its nice to have a quick & easy bread to go with a soup/stew or casserole. I will make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Blondiegirl

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2014
I made this for St. Patricks day. It was the first time I made irish soda bread. It was fabulous and my family loved it for sandwiches the next few days. I have made it several times since and it is a wonderful bread. I have tried it with different dried fruits and with nuts and a little sugar. I've also made it with lemon juice instead of vinegar and it was just as good. It is always a hit. Thank you for sharing this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2014
I have used another Irish soda bread recipe for years, which contains butter. I tried this one for the first time yesterday and loved it--it's better than the one with butter. I used white whole wheat flour and added 1Tbsp caraway seeds and 1 cup of raisins. Easy to make, easy to clean up, great texture and very sliceable.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TFRach

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2014
First of all I have to admit that bread is not my culinary specialty by any means and second,I have never ever tried Irish Soda Bread.I made this as a substitute for our usual dinner rolls to go with St. Patty's Day Boiled Dinner.I liked how simple it seemed and that I had all of the ingredients on hand.I followed this recipe but w/ another reviewer's suggestions of using buttermilk, dusting w/ corn meal,cooking on a baking sheet and cutting an X in the top then brushing w/ beaten egg 8 minutes before done.The bread looked like all of the other pictures so I'm assuming that I made it right except that to me and my family it tasted like Biscuits.Is it supposed to taste like a sliced version of Biscuits? Hmmmm.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Martina Martinez

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Worcester, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Eustis, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2014
Perfect, simple, quick - LOVE. For visual and taste pleasure I added caraway seed and sea salt to the top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by TRACY C.
Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2014
Changed only the topping. melted butter and Italian seasoning and brushed on bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TRACY C.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Akron, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 139) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Amazingly Easy Irish Soda Bread

See how to make old-fashioned Irish soda bread.

Chef John's Irish Soda Bread

Classic recipe for an Irish quick bread.

Irresistible Irish Soda Bread

This soda bread is dense and moist, thanks to the tangy addition of buttermilk.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States