Irish Soda Bread in a Skillet Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2015
A QUICK BREAD,I MIXED IN A BOWL,KNEADED IT IN THE BOWL AND PUT IT ON A COOKIE SHEET DUSTED WITH CORN MEAL.I USED BUTTERMILK,ADDED 1/4 CUP GOLDEN RAISINS,1 TABLESPOON OF BROWN SUGAR,AND THE ULTIMATE 1/4 TEASPOON CARDAMON.BAKED AT 375 FOR 30 MINUTES. AWESOME!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2015
This recipe is simple to make and tastes wonderful. I can't believe someone would rate it a 1 star without even trying it out. The size of pan needed is evident by the amount of dough it makes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2015
Didn't try the recipe. Instructions are not complete. What size cast irony skillet? Does the skillet need to be oiled? Should the bread be cooled before removing from the pan?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2015
I never made this type of bread before but certainly will again! So easy and delicious. I think it needed a bit more sugar. Will also try "Amazingly Easy Irish Soda Bread" ("more recipes like this" part of this group of breads) A bit more preparation but still seems to be pretty easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bronx, New York, USA
Living In: Barnegat, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2015
Mixed feelings on this. A little more coaching in the written recipe for us neophyte cooks would have been helpful. I picked this recipe because of it's simplicity but the dough is very hard to handle. I made it twice (hey, flour and milk is cheap) thinking I messed up measuring/liquid vs. dry measuring cups thing the other "food scientists" here are lecturing (hint: if your chemical experiment isn't reproducible, it's not scientific - a little lecture back at you). That said, in the end, it came out good for the Beef and Guinness Stew I made for St. Pat's Day. You just have to understand it's a sticky mess and it won't look like the picture, which depicts a nice golden roll. (and how many of us can make it look like a picture anyway?)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2015
BAD REVIEWS HAPPEN WHEN PEOPLE WHO CAN"T COOK ENTER A KITCHEN!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2015
Question? Do you grease the skillet?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Patsy R Bussman

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2015
Easy and delicious. Kids loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Queen Llemon

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2015
I have made this twice now with very positive results, but with the help of many suggestions made by others. I made it Friday night and it was gone in one day. There are just my husband and myself. I made it again Sunday morning for a special dinner after church. It went well with tossed green salad and Grandma Coffee's Beef Barley Vegetable Soup also made with changes. The reason I gave it four stars is because I needed to make those changes. It would have been very bland without them. For the first one I ended up using 2 tsp apple vinegar, 1 tsp baking soda, 2 tsp sugar, oregano and basil. For the second one I used the 2 tsp apple vinegar, 1 c. regular four and 1 c. whole wheat flour, kosher salt, 1 tsp. baking soda, 2 tsp sugar, oregano, basil, and parsley. This one didn't make it through Sunday. I also heavily buttered a medium sized cast iron fry pan for both and baked it for 25 minutes. The dough is very sticky but I kept taking it off of one hand with the fingers of the other hand and kneaded it with lots of flour. The second one will be a staple in our home. Thanks, Canadian Girl, for this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Woodinville, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2015
I'm just giving this 3 stars because the recipe needed a lot of tweaking. 1 cup of milk is too much for 2 cups of flou. I used 1 teaspoon of baking soda and 1/2 teaspoon of baking powder. I baked it in my cast iron skillet for 20 minutes and then brush the top with melted butter and put it back in the oven for another 10 minutes. Turned out great, we had it with Irish stew. After reading some of the reviews I’m going to add some sugar and raisins for a breakfast bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lekili_

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ancaster, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Kitchener, Ontario, Canada

Displaying results 11-20 (of 141) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Passover Celebration
Passover Celebration

Celebrate Passover with Jewish main dishes, desserts, and traditional holiday foods.

Easter Lamb, Ham, and More
Easter Lamb, Ham, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Amazingly Easy Irish Soda Bread

See how to make old-fashioned Irish soda bread.

Irresistible Irish Soda Bread

This soda bread is dense and moist, thanks to the tangy addition of buttermilk.

Irish Soda Bread Cookies

Turn the flavors of soda bread into quick-and-easy cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States