Irish Soda Bread in a Skillet Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Photo by S
Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2014
So easy to do and so perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by S

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2013
Very popular at my house and easy to make in a pinch. Just like the Emerald Isle.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Scott

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2013
We all loved it. I make homemade yeast bread a couple times a week, always changing the variety. We had never had Irish Soda bread before, so I found it to be a cross between a yeast bread and a biscuit. I made a big pot of spicy chili for dinner and forgot that we were out of bread. I searched for a recipe that I could make in under an hour and found this quick and easy Irish Soda bread. It was quite flavorless on its own, which is good as everyone in the house likes to put something different on as a topping (peanut butter, fruit preserves, butter, honey, etc.). My husband requested it again in the morning for breakfast ... and because it's so quick and easy, it was no problem. Thanks for a great recipe! I will definitely be making this often! I think I will also experiment with spices and sweeteners for something different. We love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2013
WOW~
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Peach

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Savannah, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2013
Use buttermilk variation and this bread was delicious! Had to try the sweet version also. I added plum amazins to it and kids loved it too. Thanks for a simple and delicious bread recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2013
This was a very easy bread to make. I love how dense the bread is,perfect for dipping in soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Spencer Nunnally

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2013
Just made this bread last night, as an after thought, and it was wonderful...after I baked it 30 minutes instead of 15. This is a huge keeper and will be passing this on to as many as are interested!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Rochester, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Piedmont, South Dakota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2013
Lucky me was out of my usual milk but had an entire quart of buttermilk so that's what I used in this recipe. One reviewer's suggestion was to use a bit of sugar so I added 2 teaspoons and also a cup of raisins. I baked it on a lightly sprayed pizza pan for about 30 minutes and it came out beautifully cooked and golden brown. I melted a tablespoon of butter, added about 3 or 4 tablespoons buttermilk and a tablespoon of sugar and brushed it all over. I know I deviated from the original recipe but likely would not have made my changes had it not been for the hints of other reviewers. Because of all of those reviews, I have a lovely Irish Soda Bread recipe. It's super easy to do; no fuss, no muss. Just mix, shape and bake. We have enough left over to toast and have with our AM coffee. I am very happy with the end result. MANY thanks to all who "helped" me find a great recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gail Cobile

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Spotsylvania, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2013
Really easy and quick! My husband really liked it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SarahStumphf

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Middletown, New York, USA
Living In: Clarksville, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2012
I really put a twist on it, but I wanted a sweet more dessert or breakfast like bread. Preheat oven to 375. I changed dry ingredients to 3 cups flour, 1/2 cup unrefined cane sugar, 1 1/2 tsp baking soda, 2 tsp baking powder, 1 tbs cinnamon. Wet ingredients 1 1/3 milk, 2 tsp vinegar. I did not knead it, but I did use kitchen aid bread paddle to stir. I put he loaf in a cast iron dutch oven. shook poppy seeds on top and baked it for 30 minutes. Take it out of oven brush with egg white, shake more cane sugar, bake or 5 more minutes...yummm!!! It turned out perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 116) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Amazingly Easy Irish Soda Bread

See how to make old-fashioned Irish soda bread.

Irresistible Irish Soda Bread

This soda bread is dense and moist, thanks to the tangy addition of buttermilk.

Irish Soda Bread Cookies

Turn the flavors of soda bread into quick-and-easy cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States