Irish Soda Bread in a Skillet Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2008
Simple and yummy. My tweaks: raisins and 1/4 c. sugar. I also let the vinegar take over the milk overnight and it made a thick buttermilk which really moistened the bread. I served for breakfast on St. Pat's day with cinnamon butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2008
I made this tonight and it was a hit. It is so easy and fantastic with a little butter! Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JulieCooks

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2007
Fast, easy and delicious. Made with variations: parmesan, flax, coriander and nutmeg on top. My kids love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2007
I wanted a soda bread for dinner which was going to be done in half an hour. All the other recipes used buttermilk and I had none so I tried this. I read the reviews so I added a couple of Tablespoons sugar, used red wine vinegar, and tossed in a teaspoon of rosemary and mint. Absolutely delicious!! I cooked it for 20 minutes tho' and it almost could have used a minute or two more. Can't wait to try it again with other spice or herb combinations.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
58 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Poulsbo, Washington, USA
Living In: Wasilla, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MBKRH
Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2007
This didn't work out well for me. My dough was really sticky and it was hard to form into a nice, smooth disc. The taste was really bland, even when I added a bit of sugar to the dough mixture. I won't be making this again, but it was nice to try. Thanks anyway.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wheaton, Illinois, USA
Living In: Naperville, Illinois, USA
Photo by tanaquil
Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2007
I loved the ease of this and thought the taste was wonderful! I used distilled white vinegar (that's all I had) and added a tsp. of powdered buttermilk. I am rating this 5 stars but my 8yo said it was "3 and 1/2 because its kind of hard and has a flour taste". Kids! (; Thanks for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tanaquil

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Belton, Texas, USA
Reviewed: May 16, 2007
By far the easiest recipe ive seen here, and delicious too. it tastes awesome with raisins and i add a quarter cup of sugar, sometimes a pinch of cinnamin.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2007
This was so simple! Welove it. I used "Spelt"flour and Red Wine vinager. It was great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2007
Just anote make sure that your skillet is seasoned well. If not your bread will tast like the skillit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2006
As another reviewer said, this is a great last minute recipe! I used cider vinegar and added some sugar and a little handful of craisins. I also served it with honey butter. It was a big hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by klzee

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 114) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Amazingly Easy Irish Soda Bread

See how to make old-fashioned Irish soda bread.

Irresistible Irish Soda Bread

This soda bread is dense and moist, thanks to the tangy addition of buttermilk.

Irish Soda Bread Cookies

Turn the flavors of soda bread into quick-and-easy cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States