Irish Soda Bread in a Skillet Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2009
I've never had soda bread before so I can't speak to whether this recipe tastes authentic but it is incredibly easy to make and tastes great! I've made it twice in one week and both times it was gobbled up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2009
This was okay. Maybe my family doesn't like soda bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2009
This is a really yummy bread. I added a bit of sugar to my dough and I didn't add much extra flour to the dough. Came out soft inside with a nice crisp crust. I did bake mine for half hour at 350 degrees though, just to be sure the inside would be cooked through. This is great! because I have been looking for a recipe for bread that does not turn out cake-like which uses no yeast. I slathered mine with some cinnamon-honey butter and it's so yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Roxanne J.R.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Photo by rosabela
Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2009
What a lovely loaf of bread! I didn't change the ingredients and the bread turned out perfect-even my 10 month old loved it! Here's what I did to help with the stickiness: Make a well in the center of the flour and pour the curdled milk inside. With a fork, begin rotating in small circles incorporating the flour. Continue till you can't run the fork through the dough any longer. Then finish incorporating the rest of the flour with your hand. The dough will be a bit sticky but still workable. To get rid of the excess flour on your hands, simply rub some flour between your hands until most of the dough comes off. Sprinkle A LOT of flour on the counter and then roll your dough into a ball or disk. Place in an iron skillet (I used a ceramic dish lined with baking paper) and bake a bit longer then the recommended time for a nice crust-I baked mine for 20 minutes. Afterwards, I brushed the top with butter and sprinkled some dried green chives to add some colour, and baked again for an additional 3-4 minutes. I will definitely make this again! I want to try the sweet version with sugar and currents. This recipe is a keeper! Thanks for sharing, Canadian Girl!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Hamburg, Hamburg, Germany
Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2009
4.5 stars - definitely leave it in the oven for 20-25 mins. Great bread - easy and quick. Made our St. Patrick's day breakfast special :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by P24FERGUS

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Belleville, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Liverpool, Merseyside, England, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2009
This is my first first review and I had to comment. The dough was soft and sticky like a pancake batter. Not at all formable into a ball. Very disappointing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2009
Yum! I used 1/2 cup sour cream and 1/2 cup half & half in lieu of the milk, still used vinegar. Also substituted 1/2 cup whole wheat for some of the flour. Turned out great! Not heavy like some recipes. I think the key is not to handle this much, just stir it together until it is coated good and form it into a loaf. Cooked for almost 20 mins, crust was great. Have tried other soda recipes, but this one has been the best so far.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2008
Excellent. I'm staying away from Yeast and from sugar (for my health) and this bread was perfect for my diet. I substituted 1/2 cup yogurt and 1/2 cup milk. And I used whole wheat flour - seemed to need a few more minutes. Easy and delicious bread and a little salty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2008
This ia a bread that's guaranteed to disappear quickly after coming out of the oven. Make with true buttermilk for an even tastier treat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2008
Terrifically easy and tastes wonderful. I used buttermilk and added raisins and sprinkled caraway seeds on top. I tried it on a cookie sheet with parchment paper and in an iron skillet. Both worked fine. However, both needed more than 15 minutes. I I needed 25 minutes in the skillet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 116) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Amazingly Easy Irish Soda Bread

See how to make old-fashioned Irish soda bread.

Irresistible Irish Soda Bread

This soda bread is dense and moist, thanks to the tangy addition of buttermilk.

Irish Soda Bread Cookies

Turn the flavors of soda bread into quick-and-easy cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States