Irish Soda Bread in a Skillet Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2011
Mmmm simple and delicious. Much like a native american pan bread. My milk didn't really curdle and it was still delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2011
It's very easy. I took the notes of Marg, and added sugar, didn't have buttermilk. I lowered the temp to 375, cooked for 30 minutes, removed, brushed with a beaten egg, and cooked another 5 minutes.I added raisins. I didn't have an iron skillet so I used a glass cake pan, and it turned out very good. I added 2 tablespoons of sugar, also.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Independence, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2011
Okay...after doing A LOT of research and trying a couple different recipes from this site, I have to report that THIS is the real deal! Utterly delicious, melt-in-your-mouth tender and velvety soda bread, just as it's intended to be. I could hardly stop myself eating it! Substitute buttermilk for an absolutely authentic bread...and leave out the sugar and raisins you may have been led to believe are in soda bread--to include them would result in a bread called "spotted dog" or "railway cake". This bread gets a great big *smoooch*!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Springfield, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2011
Not sure on this one yet. Just tried it for the first time, and it didn't quite work out. I didn't add quite all of the milk, as it seemed very moist to me after adding about 80% of it. However, the bread didn't end up expanding/rising very well, and after bakinhg it for about 22 minutes at 400F, I figured it must be done, took it out, cut it in half, and the center (I'd say about 25% of the mass) was completely unbaked. I put it back in the oven for another 12 minutes or so, and that seemed to bake it *almost* through, and is still OK on the crust. So that was about 34-35 minutes in total, where the recipe calls for only 15 minutes. I'll try again, as the taste is good, but next time I'll just go ahead and add all of the milk, as perhaps it was too dry this time, and that caused it to not expand properly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shawn Fennell

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2011
Very good will try and add extra ingredients next time
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Boquete, Chiriquí, Panama

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2011
Love this bread! Lactose intolerance in my house, so I used the Smart Balance FF Lactose Free Omega 3 milk (worked wonderfully), I also added 1 tbsp of sugar. I don't have an iron skillet, so I used a pampered chef stone (deep dish baker) I had to increase the bake time to 25 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2011
This looked terrible going in the oven, too gooey, I divided the dough, added some rye flour to on,e and some all purpose flour and some raisins to the other. Flopped (yes, flopped!) both in the same cake pan, basted 2x with butter, baked for 25 minutes....Oh, was it GOOOOOOD with a pat of butter spread on!!!!! Will make again, pretty easy!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tina Novak

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2010
just made this bread, smells awesome in my house today. wanted a bread to go with homemade chicken chili that I have in the crockpot, but did not have yeast in the house so I tried this. great idea! I did double the recipe to better fit in my skillet came out great! Thanks so much for posting this! I will be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: North Adams, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Ladson, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2010
So easy and quick, and my family loves it! It is my "go-to" bread when I need something quick and don't have a lot of ingredients on hand. I tried it with 1/2 whole wheat and 1/2 AP flour, and even though its not as good for you, it comes out better when just using AP flour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2010
i loved this. I added cornmeal to it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 138) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Spring Asparagus
Spring Asparagus

The new crop of asparagus is finally here. Enjoy it in hundreds of different ways.

Homemade Waffles
Homemade Waffles

Waffles make Sunday mornings special, but they're great for lunch and dinner, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Amazingly Easy Irish Soda Bread

See how to make old-fashioned Irish soda bread.

Chef John's Irish Soda Bread

Classic recipe for an Irish quick bread.

Irresistible Irish Soda Bread

This soda bread is dense and moist, thanks to the tangy addition of buttermilk.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States