Irish Soda Bread in a Skillet Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2011
What a bummer!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Noonie

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2011
It was very plain but a good base for honey butter or butter and jam. My husband liked it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2011
Loved it. We doubled the batch and made it in the cast iron skillet. Had to add about 21 minutes to the cooking time. Also, we melted butter over the top. Even when I accidently tossed in cocoa powder for the log cake we were making and was unable to get quite all of it out, it turned out lovely. (Although it may have been a bit more brown!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WesternStars

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Fran
Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2011
Fantastic recipe. I substituted about 2/3 cups of whole wheat flour, added a dash more salt and baking soda to accommodate, and added 1 tablespoon maple syrup just to add a hint of sweetness. I increased the baking time to 25 as others have suggested, and it was a delicious accompaniment to leek and potato soup for St. Paddy's Day dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Fran

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2011
perfect, but added a teaspoon of sugar and made some honey butter.. delicious
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kyles mom
Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2011
This bread was pretty good. I followed the recipe but had to add more flour...it was very gooey. Next time I will add the sugar that someone said to try. Also may try a bit more salt and the buttermilk maybe. It had a bland taste. But of course butter made it better. Ate it with our Guiness corned beef and cabbage and the bread was very good dipped in the juices from the meat! It was super fast and easy to make. Perfect for when you need a quick bread with dinner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lscarb2

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fort Collins, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2011
Easy and tasty. I substituted buttermilk for the milk per some of the comments here, but that was the only modification, and it was very good. I served it with Beer Braised Irish Stew and Colcannon from this site. Great St. Patrick's Day meal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CATLOVERGIRL

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Gobles, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2011
Very tasty! I've never had Irish Soda Bread before, so I had nothing to compare to, but my Irish husband really liked it. I added a tbsp of sugar and since I don't have an iron skillet, I baked on a cookie sheet w/ parchment paper for 25 minutes. Once it was done, I brushed it w/ melted butter and sprinkled carraway seeds on top. Was great with our beef stew for St. Pat's!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by youngwoman

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2011
Mmmm simple and delicious. Much like a native american pan bread. My milk didn't really curdle and it was still delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2011
It's very easy. I took the notes of Marg, and added sugar, didn't have buttermilk. I lowered the temp to 375, cooked for 30 minutes, removed, brushed with a beaten egg, and cooked another 5 minutes.I added raisins. I didn't have an iron skillet so I used a glass cake pan, and it turned out very good. I added 2 tablespoons of sugar, also.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Independence, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 116) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Amazingly Easy Irish Soda Bread

See how to make old-fashioned Irish soda bread.

Irresistible Irish Soda Bread

This soda bread is dense and moist, thanks to the tangy addition of buttermilk.

Irish Soda Bread Cookies

Turn the flavors of soda bread into quick-and-easy cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States