Irish Soda Bread in a Skillet Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2011
Great, easy recipe! I made it for my family and added 1t of Splenda and tasted good, but could have used a little more. I also added some raisins, but I didn't have many on hand so there weren't a lot. Baking time also needs to be adjusted as other reviews have said, I baked mine for about 28 minutes. Will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Russ
Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2011
I really wanted to like this recipe as it's written because it's probably to most authentic recipe for Irish soda bread on Allrecipes. I made a loaf of this bread this morning. The results were so-so. Then it occurred to me how to improve it, so I made a second loaf tonight. This time I used 2 cups of BREAD flour. (We are baking bread, after all. All-purpose flour is for cake and cookies.) I then took the heat down to 325 and baked it for 35 to 40 minutes. AMAZING IMPROVEMENT. While baking, the loaf almost doubled in size; it was lighter and fluffier and tasted like real bread and was not like a dry hockey puck. The low baking temp also gave me a flakier crust that was less than 1/8 of inch thick all the way around. I will keep this recipe but I will use my adjustments. I think I've almost mastered real Irish soda bread, one of the easiest bread to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2011
This is a *wonderful* recipe! I found it quick and easy to prepare ... 30 minutes (more or less) for a loaf of fresh-baked bread? Who could ask for anything more? I used the sour-milk version and was not disappointed. IMO, it's not the best bread to eat hot out of the oven, slathered with butter (although it's not bad that way,either)but it makes *fantastic* toast. It's the perfect size for a single or two-person household. I can't wait to try some of the other reviewer's suggestions for additions. This recipe is definitely a 'keeper' and one I will use often. Thank you for sharing it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2011
again another great recipe that you can be creative with. made as directed and it was just divine. Had it with corn beef and cabbage from all recipes site. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pjlee

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2011
was in a bit of a hurry so I used 2 tablespoons of vinegar to curdle the milk. I also happened to misread the measurement on the baking soda and used baking powder-what a day, anyways this still turned out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2011
Very good bread. I plan on making often.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rjd1247

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Woodville, Texas, USA
Photo by gurl_cbl
Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2011
I made this exactly how instructed except I baked in a non-stick cake pan since I don't have an iron skillet and baked an extra 2 mins. I love how easy and quick it is. Doesn't have a lot of taste but it's a good base recipe that you could play around with. And I like the sort of biscuit texture. My sister LOVED it! I will definitely make again using some spices and different flavours.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gurl_cbl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Windsor, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2011
I love this recipe. I made it with a tsp of sage and a little bit of onion powder. It is so simple and doesn't take much time at all. This bread has a lot of different possibilities for your taste buds. You can add almost anything to it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2011
Such a quick and easy recipe. Will be making this over and over. Me, my wife and son devoured the first loaf I made!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by glassman_24k

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Perry, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2011
I tried 2 other recipes before this one and I guess 3rd times a charm,because this one is perfect !!! THank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by nlundgren

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 114) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Amazingly Easy Irish Soda Bread

See how to make old-fashioned Irish soda bread.

Irresistible Irish Soda Bread

This soda bread is dense and moist, thanks to the tangy addition of buttermilk.

Irish Soda Bread Cookies

Turn the flavors of soda bread into quick-and-easy cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States