Irish Soda Bread from County Cork Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Pen
Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2010
I had to make this since my ancestors are from County Cork! It is awesome right out of the oven. No butter needed. I didn't have raisins, but I didn't miss them at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pen

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2011
Very good, we added green food coloring and luv'd it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PURPLEGIRAFFE69

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2011
I just baked this recipe and it turned out sweet, rich and crunchy on the outside. Excellent. I needed a self-rising flour recipe since I was out of regular. Also I had to use yogurt rather than milk. This is so good I am going to experiment with dates, blueberries and raspberries in place of raisins.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Homechef
Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2015
great simple recipe easy to make i left out rasins and added a half of capful of vanilla to the egg and milk mixture, made the bread a bit sweeter so i made two loaves
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Homechef

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Warren, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2011
This is one of the better soda breads that I have made. I left out the raisins because I don't like raisins in my soda bread, but otherwise I followed the directions exactly. It was a sweet bread with a tasty texture (like another reviewer stated - it has a cornbread-type of consistency). My whole family enjoyed it, and I will definitely be making it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2011
True to its name. My grandmother is also from County Cork and this is exactly the recipe she uses.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tricia Vaccaro-Coburn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Manalapan, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2012
I have found that this one is the best. I have been making your Irish soda bread recipe for the past three years now. Thanks so much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2012
Very good, but I won't use a 9" pan again! Mine overflowed a little, but otherwise it was great. Nice texture, perfect amount of sweetness. Definitely will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2013
I love this recipe. Since my family isn't crazy about raisins, I omit them and I cut the sugar back to a 1/2 cup. I lightly knead the dough and form it into a round loaf and cut a deep cross in the middle like a traditional soda bread. It's a sweet, crunchy, and crumbly slice of heaven!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2010
I just pulled this out of the oven and tried a piece, and I really like it. It's slightly sweet and the crumb almost reminds me of cornbread. My husband just tried a bite and said, "Oh, that is good!" It doesn't matter to me if it's truly authentic or not, I just wanted something tasty to serve. Thank you for an easy and tasty recipe to serve with St. Patrick's Day dinner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BroncosFan
Living In: Fort Collins, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 14) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb
Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb

Rhubarb adds its tangy flavor to everything from salsa to lemonade. Don't forget the pie.

Perfect Summer Smoothies
Perfect Summer Smoothies

Warm weather calls for a cold, fruity smoothie. Choose from over 400 refreshing recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Amazingly Easy Irish Soda Bread

See how to make old-fashioned Irish soda bread.

Chef John's Irish Soda Bread

Classic recipe for an Irish quick bread.

Irresistible Irish Soda Bread

This soda bread is dense and moist, thanks to the tangy addition of buttermilk.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States