Irish Soda Bread from County Cork Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2010
I just pulled this out of the oven and tried a piece, and I really like it. It's slightly sweet and the crumb almost reminds me of cornbread. My husband just tried a bite and said, "Oh, that is good!" It doesn't matter to me if it's truly authentic or not, I just wanted something tasty to serve. Thank you for an easy and tasty recipe to serve with St. Patrick's Day dinner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BroncosFan
Living In: Fort Collins, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Pen
Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2010
I had to make this since my ancestors are from County Cork! It is awesome right out of the oven. No butter needed. I didn't have raisins, but I didn't miss them at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pen

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2011
True to its name. My grandmother is also from County Cork and this is exactly the recipe she uses.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tricia Vaccaro-Coburn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Manalapan, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2011
This is one of the better soda breads that I have made. I left out the raisins because I don't like raisins in my soda bread, but otherwise I followed the directions exactly. It was a sweet bread with a tasty texture (like another reviewer stated - it has a cornbread-type of consistency). My whole family enjoyed it, and I will definitely be making it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2012
Mine was done (and a little over cooked at that) at 40 minutes. Next time I will only use 1 cup of raisins, they were sort of over powering.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Oureatinghabits

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2011
I just baked this recipe and it turned out sweet, rich and crunchy on the outside. Excellent. I needed a self-rising flour recipe since I was out of regular. Also I had to use yogurt rather than milk. This is so good I am going to experiment with dates, blueberries and raspberries in place of raisins.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2011
Nice taste, half of the family ate it the other did not care for this at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by inounvme

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lansdowne, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2011
Very good, we added green food coloring and luv'd it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PURPLEGIRAFFE69

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2012
I have found that this one is the best. I have been making your Irish soda bread recipe for the past three years now. Thanks so much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Homechef
Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2015
great simple recipe easy to make i left out rasins and added a half of capful of vanilla to the egg and milk mixture, made the bread a bit sweeter so i made two loaves
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Homechef

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Warren, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 14) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Amazingly Easy Irish Soda Bread

See how to make old-fashioned Irish soda bread.

Chef John's Irish Soda Bread

Classic recipe for an Irish quick bread.

Irresistible Irish Soda Bread

This soda bread is dense and moist, thanks to the tangy addition of buttermilk.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States