Irish Soda Bread V Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2002
this recipe produced two fine loaves of very flavorful bread Prep couldn't have been easier...a good project for kids. It had the "bite" from the soda and the buttermilk that makes the bread so wonderful. I shipped it to two friends and it arrived in perfect condition and was enjoyed by all!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
42 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2002
this had really good flavor, except, being the ignorant 15 year old cook that I am, I wasn't expecting it to be like a flat bread. I had wanted to make a loaf og bread but thats ok it still came out good! and hey, you learn something new every day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2003
Excellent! This bread tastes exactly as I remember it in Ireland; great warm with butter and jam. Easy to make. Thanks for sharing it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2003
Because the recipe allows for some variation, I used some coconut milk that I had sitting around. I also added cinnamon and 1/4 t extra baking soda. The bread turned out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MACKALLEN
Home Town: Superior, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Auburn, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2004
It tastes good, but I like another soda bread recipe better. I don't know if I did something wrong, or if the dough was supposed to be so sticky. Might want to add a little extra flour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2005
Five stars for simplicity. I used all-purpose white and special-for-bread whole wheat flour and this turned out great. Used fake buttermilk - 1 tbsp vinegar for each cup milk and let sit 10 minutes on counter. Stirred about 1 cup of raisins into the flour mix before the milk to make raisin bread. Tasty and chewy, great warm with jam and honey.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by alarose

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2005
Mine came out awful! I think it must have been that my WW flour was too old or something. Even the dough didn't act right! I'll try again sometime with fresh whole wheat flour. MIne came out like big flour bricks! Probably my fault though, so I'll leave the rating at 4 stars and just warn folks to use fresh ingredients! (I actually WAS trying to use up that old flour! Oh well!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by VOGTIE

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Geneva, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2006
I have several recipes for soda bread. This one is a little drier than the one I was usually make. I added raisins for a little texture and caraway seed because I like the flavor. All in all a good bread. Co-workers and my Irish-Italien husband liked it. When it's a day old try topping it with the cinnimon honey butter that's also on this site.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Sidney, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2007
Pretty good, but I was hoping for something that rivaled the "Katie O'Reilly" brand that is sold in stores around St. Patrick's day and has very similar ingredients. I added an egg to help hold the loaf together, and changed some of the whole wheat flour to oat flour, which unfortunately, made it more crumbly. If you don't have buttermilk (which can be difficult to find in stores), you can go a couple of different directions. You can follow the advice of one of the other reviewers and use vinegar milk. (Not the tastiest option.) You can buy powdered buttermilk in bulk food stores, which is what I used, and is also not terribly tasty. Yogurt mixed with a bit of milk to loosen it up is a good option, although lowfat yogurt can also be a bit bland. The tastiest substitute is probably sour cream, but also the fattiest. I added 2 cups of currents, which gave it a nice sweet flavor. I think next time I'll add more oil or butter to give the loaf more flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Sewell, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2007
SORRY, IT WAS TERRIBLE! TWO BIG BRICKS! AND THE PICTURE LOOKED NOTHING LIKE WHAT I MADE! I REALLY THINK THE WHOLE WHEAT FLOUR WAS WHAT MADE IT A FLOP.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 36) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Amazingly Easy Irish Soda Bread

See how to make old-fashioned Irish soda bread.

Irresistible Irish Soda Bread

This soda bread is dense and moist, thanks to the tangy addition of buttermilk.

Irish Soda Bread Cookies

Turn the flavors of soda bread into quick-and-easy cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States