Irish Soda Bread V Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2002
this recipe produced two fine loaves of very flavorful bread Prep couldn't have been easier...a good project for kids. It had the "bite" from the soda and the buttermilk that makes the bread so wonderful. I shipped it to two friends and it arrived in perfect condition and was enjoyed by all!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
42 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2003
Excellent! This bread tastes exactly as I remember it in Ireland; great warm with butter and jam. Easy to make. Thanks for sharing it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2003
Because the recipe allows for some variation, I used some coconut milk that I had sitting around. I also added cinnamon and 1/4 t extra baking soda. The bread turned out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MACKALLEN
Home Town: Superior, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Auburn, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2005
Five stars for simplicity. I used all-purpose white and special-for-bread whole wheat flour and this turned out great. Used fake buttermilk - 1 tbsp vinegar for each cup milk and let sit 10 minutes on counter. Stirred about 1 cup of raisins into the flour mix before the milk to make raisin bread. Tasty and chewy, great warm with jam and honey.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by alarose

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2007
Sooooo yummy! Moist and buttery, I have found my favorite Irish soda bread recipe! I out in more all purpose flour instead of wheat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2007
Took to a St. Patty's day party. Made one with raisins and fennel and one without. Both were good but the raisin/fennel went the fastest.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2007
A great bread that's nigh impossible to screw up. I replaced the single cup of regular milk with the rest of the buttermilk I'd bought (since I don't use milk aside from for cooking) with no problems.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dearborn, Michigan, USA
Living In: Royal Oak, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2007
Thank you for this wonderful recipe. I followed the recipe as written with the following changes: used powdered buttermilk as I had it in the pantry, added about 1 1/2 cups of raisins, and I liberally sprinkled the tops of each loaf with granulated sugar before baking. This made two loaves which quickly disappeared at work with rave reviews and requests for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fairfax, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2008
This is a delicious bread, quick and easy to make. I followed the recipe as listed and the bread turned out a lot lighter than other Irish Soda Bread recipes I have tried. This was a pleasant surprise since, given the quantity of whole wheat flour in the recipe, I had expected it to be more dense. If you are looking for the sweet style of Irish Soda Bread, look elsewhere. But if you are looking for a tasty simple loaf give this a try. By the way, I don't know what the picture that accompanies this recipe is of, but I doubt it is of this predominantly whole-grain bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by busybee

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2009
Thank Jesus and Mary - finally a real Irish recipe without the usual American dump-truckful of added white sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 36) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Amazingly Easy Irish Soda Bread

See how to make old-fashioned Irish soda bread.

Irresistible Irish Soda Bread

This soda bread is dense and moist, thanks to the tangy addition of buttermilk.

Irish Soda Bread Cookies

Turn the flavors of soda bread into quick-and-easy cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States