Irish Soda Bread V Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2002
this recipe produced two fine loaves of very flavorful bread Prep couldn't have been easier...a good project for kids. It had the "bite" from the soda and the buttermilk that makes the bread so wonderful. I shipped it to two friends and it arrived in perfect condition and was enjoyed by all!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
42 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2002
this had really good flavor, except, being the ignorant 15 year old cook that I am, I wasn't expecting it to be like a flat bread. I had wanted to make a loaf og bread but thats ok it still came out good! and hey, you learn something new every day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2005
Five stars for simplicity. I used all-purpose white and special-for-bread whole wheat flour and this turned out great. Used fake buttermilk - 1 tbsp vinegar for each cup milk and let sit 10 minutes on counter. Stirred about 1 cup of raisins into the flour mix before the milk to make raisin bread. Tasty and chewy, great warm with jam and honey.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by alarose

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2009
Thank Jesus and Mary - finally a real Irish recipe without the usual American dump-truckful of added white sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2003
Excellent! This bread tastes exactly as I remember it in Ireland; great warm with butter and jam. Easy to make. Thanks for sharing it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2007
Pretty good, but I was hoping for something that rivaled the "Katie O'Reilly" brand that is sold in stores around St. Patrick's day and has very similar ingredients. I added an egg to help hold the loaf together, and changed some of the whole wheat flour to oat flour, which unfortunately, made it more crumbly. If you don't have buttermilk (which can be difficult to find in stores), you can go a couple of different directions. You can follow the advice of one of the other reviewers and use vinegar milk. (Not the tastiest option.) You can buy powdered buttermilk in bulk food stores, which is what I used, and is also not terribly tasty. Yogurt mixed with a bit of milk to loosen it up is a good option, although lowfat yogurt can also be a bit bland. The tastiest substitute is probably sour cream, but also the fattiest. I added 2 cups of currents, which gave it a nice sweet flavor. I think next time I'll add more oil or butter to give the loaf more flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Sewell, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2007
My boyfriend and I really enjoyed this, it goes great with any kind of thick soup or stew! The bread didn't seem to rise enough, although maybe that was just me..it's good though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Montreal, Quebec, Canada
Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2003
Because the recipe allows for some variation, I used some coconut milk that I had sitting around. I also added cinnamon and 1/4 t extra baking soda. The bread turned out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MACKALLEN
Home Town: Superior, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Auburn, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Gillette
Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2010
Holy YUM!! This bread is so incredibly delicious - I've been thinking about it all day! I've neither had nor made this before, but it's my mum's favourite so I whipped it up last night. So easy and so GOOD! I didn't have buttermilk so I made some using milk and vinegar (1 tbsp/cup milk - let sit 10 min.) and it's still getting rave reviews. I got 2 round loaves, and the shapes came out a little different because I scored the top of one with an X and left the other one alone. The X loaf came out rounder while the untouched loaf rose upwards a little more. It kind of looks like a muffin. Aesthetically, I liked the X loaf better, but they taste equaly great. Thanks for the recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gillette

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Barrie, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2010
Looks like a brick when it's taken out of the oven, but the bread has a great mild flavor that goes well with many hearty stews, or can be slathered with honey butter as a snack with a cup of tea. It's a very simple recipe. I like it and will be making again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 37) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Amazingly Easy Irish Soda Bread

See how to make old-fashioned Irish soda bread.

Irresistible Irish Soda Bread

This soda bread is dense and moist, thanks to the tangy addition of buttermilk.

Irish Soda Bread Cookies

Turn the flavors of soda bread into quick-and-easy cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States