Irish Soda Bread V Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2008
Made this to go along with our St. Patrick's Day meal of Beef and Irish Stout Stew and Irish Champ (both excellent recipes from this site). This was my first time making Irish Soda Bread, so I felt like perhaps I didn't do it quite the justice it deserved. I did half the recipe. The dough was drier than perhaps it should've been, but I knew from experience making scones that I didn't want to over knead the dough, so I made the loaf the best I could and baked it. I think it was good, but maybe could be better with a bit more practice on my part.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jessica Kantola

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Albany, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2008
This is a delicious bread, quick and easy to make. I followed the recipe as listed and the bread turned out a lot lighter than other Irish Soda Bread recipes I have tried. This was a pleasant surprise since, given the quantity of whole wheat flour in the recipe, I had expected it to be more dense. If you are looking for the sweet style of Irish Soda Bread, look elsewhere. But if you are looking for a tasty simple loaf give this a try. By the way, I don't know what the picture that accompanies this recipe is of, but I doubt it is of this predominantly whole-grain bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by busybee

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2007
It tastes great but it looks nuthin like the pic. Im stil new but i did everythin the recipe said. I wanted to make it for a home ec project but I don't think i should since it doesnt look like it should. Is it just me?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Smithtown, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2007
My boyfriend and I really enjoyed this, it goes great with any kind of thick soup or stew! The bread didn't seem to rise enough, although maybe that was just me..it's good though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Montreal, Quebec, Canada
Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2007
Thank you for this wonderful recipe. I followed the recipe as written with the following changes: used powdered buttermilk as I had it in the pantry, added about 1 1/2 cups of raisins, and I liberally sprinkled the tops of each loaf with granulated sugar before baking. This made two loaves which quickly disappeared at work with rave reviews and requests for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fairfax, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2007
A great bread that's nigh impossible to screw up. I replaced the single cup of regular milk with the rest of the buttermilk I'd bought (since I don't use milk aside from for cooking) with no problems.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dearborn, Michigan, USA
Living In: Royal Oak, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2007
Took to a St. Patty's day party. Made one with raisins and fennel and one without. Both were good but the raisin/fennel went the fastest.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2007
Sooooo yummy! Moist and buttery, I have found my favorite Irish soda bread recipe! I out in more all purpose flour instead of wheat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2007
SORRY, IT WAS TERRIBLE! TWO BIG BRICKS! AND THE PICTURE LOOKED NOTHING LIKE WHAT I MADE! I REALLY THINK THE WHOLE WHEAT FLOUR WAS WHAT MADE IT A FLOP.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2007
Pretty good, but I was hoping for something that rivaled the "Katie O'Reilly" brand that is sold in stores around St. Patrick's day and has very similar ingredients. I added an egg to help hold the loaf together, and changed some of the whole wheat flour to oat flour, which unfortunately, made it more crumbly. If you don't have buttermilk (which can be difficult to find in stores), you can go a couple of different directions. You can follow the advice of one of the other reviewers and use vinegar milk. (Not the tastiest option.) You can buy powdered buttermilk in bulk food stores, which is what I used, and is also not terribly tasty. Yogurt mixed with a bit of milk to loosen it up is a good option, although lowfat yogurt can also be a bit bland. The tastiest substitute is probably sour cream, but also the fattiest. I added 2 cups of currents, which gave it a nice sweet flavor. I think next time I'll add more oil or butter to give the loaf more flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Sewell, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 38) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Amazingly Easy Irish Soda Bread

See how to make old-fashioned Irish soda bread.

Chef John's Irish Soda Bread

Classic recipe for an Irish quick bread.

Irresistible Irish Soda Bread

This soda bread is dense and moist, thanks to the tangy addition of buttermilk.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States