Irish Soda Bread IV Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2007
We have updated the amount of buttermilk in this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
103 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2001
I tried to make this recipe but the quantity of buttermilk it asks for cannot be right.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
40 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2008
I rarely ever rate a recipe this low but this is far from anything like Irish Soda bread. It is much too rich and the liquid ingredients are wrong - at least that is how I feel. Of course I was weaned on the stuff so tend to be critical!! There are much better recipes on this site.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Newry, County Down, Northern Ireland, U.K.
Living In: Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2005
I think the recipe should be 1/4 cup of buttermilk. I looked at a few others and that looked about right. Anyway, it turned out pretty good. I added raisins and fennel because I used to know someone that made it that way and it was always a big hit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2008
Milk and sour cream are not an option. Without that extra moisture, it would be too dry. We loved the taste and texture. We will be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sueb

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Prattville, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2010
I made this according to the recipe and it turned out wonderful. It was light and moist with lots of flavor. I didn't have caraway seeds, but will definately get some for the next time I make this. For those who thought the buttermilk amount was incorrect, if your buttermilk is fresh and you used baking soda and baking powder, you should not have had any problems. Sometimes if the butter milk is old it gets thin.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Auburn, Washington, USA
Living In: Boise, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2010
If I could gave 10 stars, I would! This was awesome! I halved the recipe in case I didn't like it --- now I wish I would have made both loaves! The only changes I made was that I added an extra tablespoon of butter because my mixture wasn't "crumbly" enough. I added the sourcream (with a little extra) and instead of the milk, just added some extra buttermilk. It was fantastic....people were asking for the recipe left and right. I put about 3/4 cup of raisins and about 1/2 cup of cranberries. What can I say -- it was better than dessert and I only like chocolate for dessert! WOW!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jerri Buiting

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2006
I love using raisins (light and dark), walnuts, and dried cranberries in this recipe. I highly recommend it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Beverly, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Rochester, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2007
I agree that the buttermilk measurement must be wrong. I had to add another 2 cups of flour to get a dough that even resembled bread. It was still too moist. I ended up with something resembling a batter rather than dough. When finished, the texture was close to a banana nut bread. Not bad actually, but not the irish soda bread I was aiming for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2010
This recipe cannot be correct. I measured precisely and followed directions and it turned out of the oven more like bread pudding! It was soft and mushy...not like bread at all...with way too many raisins. Is there a mistake? A disaster in my book!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 13) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Amazingly Easy Irish Soda Bread

See how to make old-fashioned Irish soda bread.

Irresistible Irish Soda Bread

This soda bread is dense and moist, thanks to the tangy addition of buttermilk.

Irish Soda Bread Cookies

Turn the flavors of soda bread into quick-and-easy cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States