Irish Soda Bread III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2011
This recipe is similar to the recipe handed down for generations from my husband's family, who only immigrated from Ireland in the last 2 generations. Maybe the name isn't appropriate, but it's definitely Irish! In the old recipe I have it's simply called Raisin Caraway bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by abelles

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2011
I know this is not the real deal Irish soda bread, however it still taste really good!! Probably falls under the dessert bread category.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nicole & Ray

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2010
It's not Irish Soda Bread, but makes a very nice raisin bread!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2010
Perfect! I thought it would be a flop because I used shortening instead of oil, but it turned out golden and high with an even texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rebeccahelen

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Miller, South Dakota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2007
You can't really call this Irish soda bread. Isn't the whole point to replace yeast with baking soda and an acid (buttermilk)to leaven the bread. If it must have yeast to be made in a bread machine I think I would just rather make it by hand...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Waco, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2005
Can't give it full stars because, good bread it may be, but it is not soda bread. Soda bread is supposed to be leavened only with baking soda, that's why they call it soda bread!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chellebelle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Olympia, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2005
I made this to a tee. It rose a little too high and touched the lid of my machine but it did not collapse so I was still happy. It came out nicely on the fruit bread setting. It was good but remember it is only bread and it is not cinnamon raisin bread either. Read Allrecipes “Bread Machine Basics.” After using my machine for years I finally learned why my breads often rose too high. I use Bread Machine yeast. It is more “activated” than regular dry active yeast so it does not have to be dissolved in water first. I find I must always use less than the recipe says. I never heard of this “traditional” bread and I’ve had corned beef and cabbage for St. Pat’s Day for eons. It’s just another new grocery marketing ploy I guess. I still gave it 5 stars if you like that sort of thing. I got sucked in this time, but from now on I think I’ll stick to plain old dinner rolls.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JUSTCYN

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rochester, New York, USA
Living In: Bay Minette, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2004
This made a large loaf and there was none left after dinner. I used 3/4 cup of warmed milk and 3/4 cup of warm water rather than the dry milk powder. Melt the margarine or butter with the milk and add to the mixture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Meriden, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Wallingford, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2002
A real tasty bread. My wife says "It sorta grows on you."
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2001
doesn't taste a thing like irish soda bread, but it's really good and moist in any case!! would definitely make it again...and again...and again...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 13) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Amazingly Easy Irish Soda Bread

See how to make old-fashioned Irish soda bread.

Irresistible Irish Soda Bread

This soda bread is dense and moist, thanks to the tangy addition of buttermilk.

Irish Soda Bread Cookies

Turn the flavors of soda bread into quick-and-easy cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States