Irish Soda Bread II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2000
Very delicious, I used golden raisins and also added 1/4 cup of dried cranberries, which made it beautiful too. Nice texture and crunchy crust.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2000
I found this recipe for irish soda bread to be very easy to prepare and very tasty. I added my own variation by using a combination of golden and dark rasins along with a very small amount of lemon rind. My whole family just loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
47 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2002
This dough (or should I say batter?) is way too wet. I had to add almost an extra cup of flour. The recipe says to pour dough onto a floured board and shape into a loaf. After chasing the batter around the board for five minutes while adding flour to give it body, I was finally able to "pick it up" and put it in the pan. I will try this recipe again but cut back on the buttermilk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
48 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2004
I love this recipe. It is the best one I've tried. It's sweet and delicous. I've tried over recipes and they haven't tasted the same.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2005
Great Recipe family loved it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2005
Very Easy. My family and friends loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2006
Too much wet stuff. No soda. It's soda bread. I changed baking powder for soda, used half the buttermilk and it was better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2006
quick,easy and delicous. served at my resturant on ST. Patricks Day and customers loved it. Left overs made great french toast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2007
This is very easy to make and the bread has a wonderful flavor. I'll be making it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2007
There is something wrong with the proportions of this recipe. Too much liquid for the amount of flour -- it doesn't hold shape. I also think it has too much sugar. I tried it as written and fed the results to the geese. Then I tried it with 4 cups of flour, added a little baking soda (it is after all, "soda" bread), and reserved a little of the egg for an egg-wash of the top. Much closer to the wonderful Irish soda bread I remember from my childhood -- cooked by neighborhood moms who were born in Ireland. Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 32) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Amazingly Easy Irish Soda Bread

See how to make old-fashioned Irish soda bread.

Irresistible Irish Soda Bread

This soda bread is dense and moist, thanks to the tangy addition of buttermilk.

Irish Soda Bread Cookies

Turn the flavors of soda bread into quick-and-easy cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States