Irish Soda Bread II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by mike
Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2014
Very easy to make and tastes awesome!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2013
It looked easy to prepare, so I tried, but I found it odd for a soda bread without soda and way too wet, I added a cup more of flour. Was it really intended to be that wet more of a batter than dough. The taste was great though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bing

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2013
I really like the flavor. Like some other reviewers I had to increase the amount of flour and decrease the amount of buttermilk a bit to get the right consistency. I put mine in a small cast iron skillet and get a great bottom crust.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2012
This was very good. I planned to serve with a main dish of mussels, so I omitted the raisins and caraway. Was only in the oven for 50 minutes and was done...maybe the size of my pan cut down the bake time. Bread was great for dipping in the broth, and toasted well the next morning for breakfast. Will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by camprunfarm

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2012
NO NO NO caraway seed
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by roberta

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Poplar Grove, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2011
Very,very good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Camillus, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2011
Made this recipe but added 3 teaspoons of baking powder and 2 teaspoons of baking soda. Also made one with chocolate chips and another with walnuts. The other was plain. I don't like raisins and cant eat caraway seeds. It came out delicious. My husband loved it. It reminded him of his great grandma's recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lucie

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Bronx, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2011
The batter was very wet; I just dumped it out on the pan and it still worked out well. Used an extra 1/4 cup of raisins and no caraway seeds. Very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2011
This is not a dough but a batter. I did not add additional flour but simply poured it into a springform pan. It came out beautifully! I loved the sweetness and the caraway flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2010
I love this recipe! So easy and raises really high if you put it in a loaf pan. I made these modifications tho: I use 1 cup of plain yogurt & 1/2 cup of milk and substituted honey for the sugar and no raisins. Makes a very moist bread. Very filling tho.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 32) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Amazingly Easy Irish Soda Bread

See how to make old-fashioned Irish soda bread.

Irresistible Irish Soda Bread

This soda bread is dense and moist, thanks to the tangy addition of buttermilk.

Irish Soda Bread Cookies

Turn the flavors of soda bread into quick-and-easy cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States