Irish Soda Bread II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2002
This dough (or should I say batter?) is way too wet. I had to add almost an extra cup of flour. The recipe says to pour dough onto a floured board and shape into a loaf. After chasing the batter around the board for five minutes while adding flour to give it body, I was finally able to "pick it up" and put it in the pan. I will try this recipe again but cut back on the buttermilk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
48 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2000
I found this recipe for irish soda bread to be very easy to prepare and very tasty. I added my own variation by using a combination of golden and dark rasins along with a very small amount of lemon rind. My whole family just loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
47 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2000
Very delicious, I used golden raisins and also added 1/4 cup of dried cranberries, which made it beautiful too. Nice texture and crunchy crust.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2008
The bread was excellent. The hit of the dinner. Dense but not tough at all. Made without raisins or caraway and was still excelent. Also good dipped in coffee.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Winchester, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2006
Too much wet stuff. No soda. It's soda bread. I changed baking powder for soda, used half the buttermilk and it was better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2004
I love this recipe. It is the best one I've tried. It's sweet and delicous. I've tried over recipes and they haven't tasted the same.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2006
quick,easy and delicous. served at my resturant on ST. Patricks Day and customers loved it. Left overs made great french toast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2009
My recommendation is to skip the part about putting it onto the board. Scoop this right from bowl into the springform pan. It was delicious, moist, fast, and very easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2005
Very Easy. My family and friends loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2010
I love this recipe! So easy and raises really high if you put it in a loaf pan. I made these modifications tho: I use 1 cup of plain yogurt & 1/2 cup of milk and substituted honey for the sugar and no raisins. Makes a very moist bread. Very filling tho.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 32) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Amazingly Easy Irish Soda Bread

See how to make old-fashioned Irish soda bread.

Irresistible Irish Soda Bread

This soda bread is dense and moist, thanks to the tangy addition of buttermilk.

Irish Soda Bread Cookies

Turn the flavors of soda bread into quick-and-easy cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States