Irish Soda Bread II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2008
The bread was excellent. The hit of the dinner. Dense but not tough at all. Made without raisins or caraway and was still excelent. Also good dipped in coffee.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Winchester, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2008
I agree w/everyone. Way too wet of a batter. I added an extra 1cup of flour and just poured it into a cake pan (like cake batter). It turned out a little rubbery-flavor not that great. It definitely needs baking soda. I would not recommend this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2007
I, too, wondered about the omission of baking soda, but I went ahead and tried this recipe as written. The "dough" was more like pancake batter. I had to add at least a cup of flour - probably more like two. All that kneading (to incorporate the flour) made the end result tough, but the flavor was good. This is my first attempt at homemade soda bread, so I haven't got anything of my own to compare it to, but the soda bread I've had in restaurants was lighter. I wouldn't make this again without serious modifications.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amy Austin

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2007
There is something wrong with the proportions of this recipe. Too much liquid for the amount of flour -- it doesn't hold shape. I also think it has too much sugar. I tried it as written and fed the results to the geese. Then I tried it with 4 cups of flour, added a little baking soda (it is after all, "soda" bread), and reserved a little of the egg for an egg-wash of the top. Much closer to the wonderful Irish soda bread I remember from my childhood -- cooked by neighborhood moms who were born in Ireland. Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2007
This is very easy to make and the bread has a wonderful flavor. I'll be making it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2006
quick,easy and delicous. served at my resturant on ST. Patricks Day and customers loved it. Left overs made great french toast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2006
Too much wet stuff. No soda. It's soda bread. I changed baking powder for soda, used half the buttermilk and it was better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2005
Very Easy. My family and friends loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2005
Great Recipe family loved it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2004
I love this recipe. It is the best one I've tried. It's sweet and delicous. I've tried over recipes and they haven't tasted the same.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 33) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Cool As A Cucumber Salad
Cool As A Cucumber Salad

We have over 100 cucumber salads to help you keep your cool.

Classic Meatloaf
Classic Meatloaf

Meatloaf is the hearty, family-pleasing meal that makes the greatest leftovers ever.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Amazingly Easy Irish Soda Bread

See how to make old-fashioned Irish soda bread.

Chef John's Irish Soda Bread

Classic recipe for an Irish quick bread.

Irresistible Irish Soda Bread

This soda bread is dense and moist, thanks to the tangy addition of buttermilk.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States