Irish Soda Bread II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2010
I love this recipe! So easy and raises really high if you put it in a loaf pan. I made these modifications tho: I use 1 cup of plain yogurt & 1/2 cup of milk and substituted honey for the sugar and no raisins. Makes a very moist bread. Very filling tho.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2010
Turned out good, but maybe a little too sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2010
I absolutely love this bread! I did find it too wet the first time I made it, so I added 1/2 cup more flour and it handled much better. No kneading. I baked it on a cookie sheet and it baked evenly with a nice golden, crispy crust. Since I make my own baking powder fresh (cream of tartar/baking soda/cornstarch) it had plenty of soda in it to make it a true soda bread. I substituted currants for the raisins. Not a fan of caraway so I left them out. The second time around was perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sacramento, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2010
Wonderful recipe! It was very easy to make and is not at all dry. I would recommend this recipe to anyone, even people who aren't usually too successful at making bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2010
Very easy &tasty. Made recipe exactly and created a gorgeous loaf which delighted family and guests. A friend asked where I bought it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Pullman, Washington, USA
Living In: Kalamazoo, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2010
WOW! This was AWESOME! so quick and painless to make. My fiance's family (Irish, of course!) kept begging me for more! Sooooo delicious! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bri*YELL!

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tunkhannock, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Newport, Rhode Island, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2010
I added about 1/2 cup more flour and 1 tsp of baking powder. I just poured into the springform pan - no shaping needed. Also lowered the temp to 325 and baked for 45 minutes. It was really tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2010
Irish Soda Bread is a breakfast item; one does not serve it with corned beef and cabbage (in fact, corned beef and cabbage is not a common meal in Ireland).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2009
WAY too wet! I added extra flour, to thicken it up, but it came out really flat and crispy, and within half the time the recipe said.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2009
My recommendation is to skip the part about putting it onto the board. Scoop this right from bowl into the springform pan. It was delicious, moist, fast, and very easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert


Displaying results 11-20 (of 33) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

French Toast
French Toast

French toast is such a perfect breakfast, light lunch, or even supper on these warm days.

Crisp Cucumber Salads
Crisp Cucumber Salads

Try one of our 100-plus cool cucumber salads.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Amazingly Easy Irish Soda Bread

See how to make old-fashioned Irish soda bread.

Chef John's Irish Soda Bread

Classic recipe for an Irish quick bread.

Irresistible Irish Soda Bread

This soda bread is dense and moist, thanks to the tangy addition of buttermilk.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States