Irish Soda Bread I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by MommyFromSeattle
Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2007
Very good - as everyone said - it's a little cake-like, but definitely has the texture of a soft bread. And once it's toasted, it's out of this world (slice it thick b4 toasting). The sweetness is sublte onced it's done - just how we like it. (Similar to sweet Hawaiin bread) I use either currants or small dried blueberries. I think raisins are too big for this bread. I've also used this to make french toast. Slice it then let it sit out for a day to get drier. Taste and texture is like brioche. I've also added a little buttermilk or milk, whatever I have one hand, when my dough is a litte too dry About 1-2 tablespoons at most. (1 pint sour cream = 2 cups) Tip- cover tightly with foil after it's done and let it steam for 30 min. or longer. This will lock in the moisture. A trick for all loaf breads.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
220 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MommyFromSeattle

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bellevue, Washington, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2006
Wonderful! I considered using other recipes but decided on this one because I didn't have buttermilk, which seems to be used in most recipes. This is moist and dense and has a lovely texture. I added 2 tablespoons of caraway seeds and shaped the loaves into freeform rounds on a greased baking sheet (wet your hands with a bit of cold water to facilitate shaping). I also used a pastry brush to apply some melted butter halfway through the baking time. The breads were golden and crusty and absolutely delicious. I will definitely make this again - and not just on St. Patrick's Day - as a base for bread pudding. No caraway seeds, of course. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
90 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Germantown, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2000
An interesting version of Irish soda bread, but too cake-like for my taste and with far too many raisins. One cup would be about right, I think.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
71 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2002
Fantastic tasting recipe! I have made the same Irish Soda Bread for years. I couldn't find the recipe this year and tried this one. I love it. I like the cake-like texture! A Keeper
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2002
Not really Irish Soda Bread but very good and easy. I used low fat sour cream and it came out just great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2000
Best irish bread, added caraway seeds for real irish flavor. Easy to put together.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2006
This looks good but I have one question: Do you really make this Irish Soda Bread with no milk at all?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2002
This bread was extremely easy to make. It's sweeter and runnier than normal soda bread so I had to make it in a loaf pan. Good for breakfast or a snack.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2002
This was the 1st time I made Irish Soda Bread & I loved it. I took the loaves to work & everyone who had a piece asked for the recipe. I also added caraway seeds. Fantastic
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2001
Very quick and easy to prepare, and incredibly delicious! Cakelike, though not overly sweet, it can be enjoyed any time. It goes VERY quickly in my house!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 249) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Amazingly Easy Irish Soda Bread

See how to make old-fashioned Irish soda bread.

Irresistible Irish Soda Bread

This soda bread is dense and moist, thanks to the tangy addition of buttermilk.

Irish Soda Bread Cookies

Turn the flavors of soda bread into quick-and-easy cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States