Irish Soda Bread I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2010
First time trying this recipe. Used whole wheat flour, 4 medium eggs and about 1/2 the raisins. Was a little dry, but good. Served it with Corned beef, cabbage, etc. Very nice Irish meal. Beat the monotony of one more Italian dish. Family loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2010
finally a soda bread that is edible! I cut the recipe in half to make one loaf. Used 2 whole eggs and added 1/8 C. water since the batter was very stiff and thick. I'll be making this alot and not just on St.Patricks Day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Sewickley, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2010
everyone at work loved it. cant wait to have what's left over for breakfast tomorrow morning.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2010
This bread is pretty good, the taste was great, but the only thing I wasn't crazy about was how dense the bread came out. I used non-fat sour cream which might have had something to do with the texture. I'll make it again with regular sour cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Lovely_Mommie
Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2010
This was the best! It was nice and soft and the whole family loved it. i will be making this alot more
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lovely_Mommie
Living In: Spooner, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2010
Good, but dries out fast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jenny

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2010
This bread was very moist and quite delicious. As other reviewers suggested, after it is out of the oven, I brushed the top with melted butter and covered tightly with foil to steam for 30 minutes to lock in moisture. Next time I will try adding the caraway seeds as others suggested. I used 1/2 cup of raisins and 1/2 cup of cran-raisins. Delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2010
This is really good. Its not traditional Irish Soda Bread and is more like a quick bread and cake like as others have mentioned but the taste is excellent. I didn't quite have a full pint of sour cream on hand so I topped it off with probably about a half cup of milk and it still turned out excellent. Watch this bread closely while its baking as 60 minutes could be too long depending on your oven. I checked mine at 50 minutes and it was done and just on the verge of becoming overdone.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Grand Junction, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2010
This was a very easy recipe to follow. And the flavor of the bread is great! Mine came out a little drier than I had hoped for, but next time I will follow the advice of previous reviewers and "steam" the loaves. I did take the advice of another reviewer and used currants instead of raisins.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BLONDIENEG

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Elk Grove, California, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2010
This is super easy to make and great tasting. I will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 249) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Amazingly Easy Irish Soda Bread

See how to make old-fashioned Irish soda bread.

Irresistible Irish Soda Bread

This soda bread is dense and moist, thanks to the tangy addition of buttermilk.

Irish Soda Bread Cookies

Turn the flavors of soda bread into quick-and-easy cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States