Irish Soda Bread I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2010
I've made this bread every year for St. Patty's Day for the last four years. It is always a big hit and everyone wants the recipe. Since I only make it once a year, it always surprises me how sticky and unweilding the dough is. And every year I get to the point of dumping it in the loaf pan thinking it will surely be a disaster, and it miraculously turns out great! (Must be the luck of the Irish!) My only variations: I put the whole thing in one large loaf pan and have always omitted the raisins. The finished product is definately sweet and could be used for a breakfast or brunch bread. Love it with tons of butter!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2010
Not a traditional Irish Soda bread - more like a cake. Extremely delicious and moist.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2010
I really enjoyed this. I don't think it's cakey the way some have described it. I think it's just more moist than most soda breads. It has a nice balance of flavors and isn't too sweet. Best of all, it's extremely easy! I'll definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2010
First time trying this recipe. Used whole wheat flour, 4 medium eggs and about 1/2 the raisins. Was a little dry, but good. Served it with Corned beef, cabbage, etc. Very nice Irish meal. Beat the monotony of one more Italian dish. Family loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2010
finally a soda bread that is edible! I cut the recipe in half to make one loaf. Used 2 whole eggs and added 1/8 C. water since the batter was very stiff and thick. I'll be making this alot and not just on St.Patricks Day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Sewickley, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2010
everyone at work loved it. cant wait to have what's left over for breakfast tomorrow morning.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2010
This bread is pretty good, the taste was great, but the only thing I wasn't crazy about was how dense the bread came out. I used non-fat sour cream which might have had something to do with the texture. I'll make it again with regular sour cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Lovely_Mommie
Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2010
This was the best! It was nice and soft and the whole family loved it. i will be making this alot more
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lovely_Mommie
Living In: Spooner, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2010
Good, but dries out fast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jenny

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2010
This bread was very moist and quite delicious. As other reviewers suggested, after it is out of the oven, I brushed the top with melted butter and covered tightly with foil to steam for 30 minutes to lock in moisture. Next time I will try adding the caraway seeds as others suggested. I used 1/2 cup of raisins and 1/2 cup of cran-raisins. Delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 252) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Amazingly Easy Irish Soda Bread

See how to make old-fashioned Irish soda bread.

Irresistible Irish Soda Bread

This soda bread is dense and moist, thanks to the tangy addition of buttermilk.

Irish Soda Bread Cookies

Turn the flavors of soda bread into quick-and-easy cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States