Irish Soda Bread I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2010
Took this out of the oven about an hour ago and already I have eaten a third of a loaf. This bread is moist, not too sweet and taste great. The only adjusments I made were to add an additional egg and half cup of milk. PERFECT!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2010
First time I made this tried to cut in half, but forgot to cut back on eggs and it was so good that now when I make it, I use 4 eggs for 2 loaves. I make it all the time and my husband & friends love it..Consider it to be one of my all time favorites.... SheilaR
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2010
If you are looking for a very traditional soda bread, this recipe is not for you. However, if you are interested in a bread that is sweeter than normal soda bread and chock full of raisins, with a fine texture, this is an absolutely wonderful bread! I love it with butter, but it really doesn't need anything - its very yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2010
very cake like and in my opinion thick. not bad, not great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by homeschooler3
Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2010
I made this exactly as stated and it turned out great. My husband especially liked it. We served it warm with a little butter on it. I would definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by homeschooler3

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2010
Before I come across this recipe I had only had Irish Soda Bread once before at a Potato Bake, and I must say that this recipe was much more superior in taste! Yes it is a bit cake-like in texture, but I loved how light and moist it was! The only change I made was substituting currants for the raisins. The first time I made this recipe, I used plain yogurt (with an additional tsp baking powder) b/c I didn't have any sour cream on hand. Today I used the sour cream and it's just as delicious. Thanks Arlene for sharing your mother's wonderful recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BugNBear

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bothell, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2010
Everyone in my family loves this, from grandparents to my 2 year old. I've made it twice in a week, and our second batch will be gone by tonight. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2010
probably won't be making this bread again. we found it edible, but pretty flavorless. this may be exactly what it's supposed to taste like, it's just not to my families liking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by deetergirl

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Nappanee, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2010
Really tasty, both fresh and as toast or french toast. I made it using sour dough starter instead of half of the sour cream. Made for a dense loaf, but excellent.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Neillsville, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Sparta, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2010
It's got a light sweetness that I love~ I used Craisins instead of raisins which was a perfect match. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Clara <3

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Riverside, California, USA

Displaying results 71-80 (of 257) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Versatile Chicken Salad
Versatile Chicken Salad

Pile it into a tomato half, load it into a wrap, or spread it on bread. Chicken salad does it all.

Beautiful Broccoli Salad
Beautiful Broccoli Salad

Broccoli salad makes a great side dish or a light main dish on a warm night.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Amazingly Easy Irish Soda Bread

See how to make old-fashioned Irish soda bread.

Chef John's Irish Soda Bread

Classic recipe for an Irish quick bread.

Irresistible Irish Soda Bread

This soda bread is dense and moist, thanks to the tangy addition of buttermilk.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States