Irish Soda Bread I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2010
Really tasty, both fresh and as toast or french toast. I made it using sour dough starter instead of half of the sour cream. Made for a dense loaf, but excellent.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Neillsville, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Sparta, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2010
It's got a light sweetness that I love~ I used Craisins instead of raisins which was a perfect match. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Clara <3

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Riverside, California, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2010
This the best soda bread I've ever eaten. It was moist and didn't taste like baking soda. I gave some to my parents and they raved about it too! I used white whole wheat flour for all of the flour and half the amount of sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Vashon Island, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by tallygirl95
Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2010
This came out delicious. Made it just the way the recipie says.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tallygirl95

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Brooklyn, New York, USA
Living In: Lancaster, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2010
This was VERY good! I don't know what authentic soda bread tastes like, but this sure was good! There is no easier recipe for a good quickbread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2010
Good. I like it served warm.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MARIO1

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Abilene, Texas, USA
Living In: Early, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2010
Very easy to make.. and was very good.. I made it for some friends and all enjoyed...I followed the recipe exactly...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2010
I've made this bread every year for St. Patty's Day for the last four years. It is always a big hit and everyone wants the recipe. Since I only make it once a year, it always surprises me how sticky and unweilding the dough is. And every year I get to the point of dumping it in the loaf pan thinking it will surely be a disaster, and it miraculously turns out great! (Must be the luck of the Irish!) My only variations: I put the whole thing in one large loaf pan and have always omitted the raisins. The finished product is definately sweet and could be used for a breakfast or brunch bread. Love it with tons of butter!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2010
Not a traditional Irish Soda bread - more like a cake. Extremely delicious and moist.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2010
I really enjoyed this. I don't think it's cakey the way some have described it. I think it's just more moist than most soda breads. It has a nice balance of flavors and isn't too sweet. Best of all, it's extremely easy! I'll definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 249) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Amazingly Easy Irish Soda Bread

See how to make old-fashioned Irish soda bread.

Irresistible Irish Soda Bread

This soda bread is dense and moist, thanks to the tangy addition of buttermilk.

Irish Soda Bread Cookies

Turn the flavors of soda bread into quick-and-easy cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States