Irish Soda Bread I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2011
make sure you mix dry ingredients first
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2011
I made one slight change. I didn't have any sour cream. So I used Oikos 0% Greek Vanilla Yogurt instead. Um... yum
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2011
Excellent. The sour cream makes this soda bread more moist thatn your usual soda breads! I will only use THIS recipe on St. Patty's Day. For fun, I sometimes add some green food coloring (although, some people might think it's mold hehehe...).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2011
Very easy and good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2011
Best Irish Soda Bread Recipe Ever!!!! I now use this recipe every St. Pat's day and sometimes when I just feel like a nice thick slice of isle heaven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Huntsville, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2010
This isn't Soda Bread. This is called Railway Cake. I swear on my Irish father's grave that Soda bread doesn't have sour cream and raisins. As far as a Railway Cake recipe is concerned, this recipe will do.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2010
I made this as a potluck item and got Rave reviews. Easy to make. First ever real baking attempt for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2010
This recipe was fantastic. I can't stop making this. I added 1/2 cup chopped walnuts and have been experimenting with different dried fruits. made it with dried mixed fruit and mixed dried berries so far. I think I like the mixed berries a little better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lindsayce

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2010
This was an excellent recipe! I was worried about the raisins staying hard, as there was little moisture in the dough, so I "marinated" them with a capful each of vanilla and orange extracts (a VERY good combination!) I also added about 1/4 cup milk, because my dough was too dry. The loaves came out perfectly. A very good, and very easy recipe to follow.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2010
This recipe is very like an Irish teacake my grandmother used to make. I would add 1/2 cup of melted butter to make it a little more moist. The raisins are a must. Other adds that would give it a lift: orange peel (1 teaspoon) and/or caraway seeds! Easy to make. I'm going to try again adding the orange peel and the melted butter for some additional moistness.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 252) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Let the Slow Cooker Handle It
Let the Slow Cooker Handle It

The best wintertime meals need a long, slow simmer while you're doing something else.

Get Your Money's Worth
Get Your Money's Worth

Our big collection of budget recipes will leave some jingle in your pocket.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Amazingly Easy Irish Soda Bread

See how to make old-fashioned Irish soda bread.

Irresistible Irish Soda Bread

This soda bread is dense and moist, thanks to the tangy addition of buttermilk.

Irish Soda Bread Cookies

Turn the flavors of soda bread into quick-and-easy cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States