Irish Soda Bread I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2011
a party fav!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2011
I've made a couple of different recipes of Irish Soda Bread before and they were good. I only make it on St. Patrick's Day. I was unable to make it today so my husband found this recipe and made it. It's not "traditional" and I loved it! This is the new recipe, and I might make it more often, now. It's almost a cross between a biscuit and pound cake. Everyone gobbled it up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by AMERICANA
Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2011
It is really good! I halved the recipe and probably could've eaten the whole thing while it was still warm. The kids and hubby like it too. I put less sugar, but next time, I'll put even less sugar and less raisins. thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AMERICANA
Home Town: Santo Domingo, Distrito Nacional, Dominican Republic
Living In: Montclair, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2011
I made this recipe and it was very good. Two days later it makes great toast!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2011
I cut the recipe in half and filled up 12 muffin tins instead of baking it in a loaf. I baked it at 325 for about 50 minutes. I wanted to make sure they weren't doughy in the middle, but 50 minutes might have been a bit long when they're so small. They were a little crispy on the outside but perfect inside! I added my own mixture sprinkled on top before I baked the muffins (cinnamon, sugar, ground nutmeg & ground ginger.) That was a nice addition. I wouldn't recommend using paper muffin tray liners though. Because the recipe doesn't have any butter in it, the batter stuck to parts of the liners. Just greasing the muffin pan would have been better than using liners. But overall, I was happy with the recipe and the small changes I made to it. Went great with my corn beef and cabbage Irish dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by METSgal31

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Milford, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Amston, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2011
I was looking for a recipe that didn't include caraway seeds (yuck!). This one was very easy to make and tasty. The recipe didn't specify, so I made one batch by hand and a second using my mixer. The batch made with the mixer did turn out better. The mixing time was kept to an absolute minimum to keep gluten from developing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Roswell, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2011
Wow, what an easy recipe! Plus it was really good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2011
It was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2011
So easy and so good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kmart0423
Home Town: Ozone Park, New York, USA
Living In: Lindenhurst, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2011
make sure you mix dry ingredients first
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 251) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Amazingly Easy Irish Soda Bread

See how to make old-fashioned Irish soda bread.

Irresistible Irish Soda Bread

This soda bread is dense and moist, thanks to the tangy addition of buttermilk.

Irish Soda Bread Cookies

Turn the flavors of soda bread into quick-and-easy cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States