Irish Soda Bread I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2013
Wonderful sweet and cake like bread. Keeps very well. I substituted low fat yogurt for the sour cream without issue.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2013
I make this at LEAST once a year on St Patty's, but people start drooling around New Year's. Awesomeness - exactly as it is. I only put the raisins in some boiling water first to plump them a little. Put a little real butter out with it - incredible!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2012
I added a cup of whole milk in order to create a batter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2012
So good and very easy recipe. Batter was a bit dry so I added about 3 tablespoons of milk. I also baked it in a bread pan. Will make again but will add bit more raisins next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hamilton, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Brampton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2012
This knocked the socks off my Irish mother-in-law. No one could stop nibbling on this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2012
The absolute best soda bread. No changes to the recipe needed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2012
Loved it! Family Loved it! Never had soda bread before. It reminded me of a sweet raisin bread. Great warmed with butter. I cut the recipe in half which made only 1 loaf. Used 1 cup sour cream, only one egg and added 1/2 cup of milk. And made my 1/2 cup sugar heaping. Doubled the raisins. The rest of ingredients just in half. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by azdiamond

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2012
I made this recipe for the first time last year and it was a huge hit! This year when I made it, again, rave reviews! I prefer golden raisins, and this year, I simmered them on the stove in plenty of Irish whiskey, removed them from the heat, covered and let soak up the whiskey (I actually simmered 2 cups, but only used one in the recipe). When the raisins were cooked in the bread, they were plump, and had the slightest, really, ever so slight taste of the whiskey - one would have to know the raisins were soaked to identify the whiskey. Just a fun little addition to Irish Soda Bread - excellent recipe!!! By the way, the extra raisins taste terrific over vanilla ice-cream!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2012
Nice-- dense and cakelike with a little sweet. I served it with corned beef and cabbage last night and toasted it this morning with fried corned beef and eggs. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2012
I love this recipe! I use a bundt pan and sprinkle powdered sugar on top lightly. Makes a good-looking gift to take to a party, etc. This time I am going to mix raisins and craisins. Hope the luck of the Irish is on my side with this variation!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Franklin Square, New York, USA
Living In: Green Cove Springs, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 257) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb
Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb

Rhubarb adds its tangy flavor to everything from salsa to lemonade. Don't forget the pie.

Perfect Summer Smoothies
Perfect Summer Smoothies

Warm weather calls for a cold, fruity smoothie. Choose from over 400 refreshing recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Amazingly Easy Irish Soda Bread

See how to make old-fashioned Irish soda bread.

Chef John's Irish Soda Bread

Classic recipe for an Irish quick bread.

Irresistible Irish Soda Bread

This soda bread is dense and moist, thanks to the tangy addition of buttermilk.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States