Irish Soda Bread I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2010
This was a very easy recipe to follow. And the flavor of the bread is great! Mine came out a little drier than I had hoped for, but next time I will follow the advice of previous reviewers and "steam" the loaves. I did take the advice of another reviewer and used currants instead of raisins.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BLONDIENEG

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Elk Grove, California, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2010
This is super easy to make and great tasting. I will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2010
Made it today intending to serve tomorrow. Family had other ideas and ate it warm from the oven. Followed recipe as written and we think its great - my daughter likes it better than traditional Irish soda bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Toasty Mama
Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2010
Very good. Mixed in caraway seeds to the second half of the batter to compare from one loaf to the other. Both were delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Munising, Michigan, USA
Living In: Byron Center, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2010
Excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rochelle, Illinois, USA
Living In: Tucson, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2010
I made this recipe at the request of my 1st- and 3rd grade daughters who wanted to bring an "Irish" snack to school for St. Pat's. They are fiercely proud of their Irish heritage. As am I...but I admit that I really hate making soda bread. Until I found this gem. It is super-simple, doubles very easily (one loaf for each girls' classroom plus one mini-loaf for my breakfast tomorrow...with some coffee and bacon, mmm!!!) It is not "authentic Irish" but you know what, neither is corned beef so screw tradition! If it tastes good, EAT IT!!! My only qualm was that it rises VERY quickly. Not a problem unless you double it in too small of a mixing bowl, then wham, batter dripping all over my countertop. So use a really big bowl. Forewarned is forearmed! It is quite sweet compared to the real deal, but I say go with it. I enhanced the inherant sweetness with a sprinkle of coarse sugar on top of the loaf prior to baking, and a cup or so of currants in the batter. Slainte!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2010
If your looking for authentic, this is not it. Irish people cook this in a large round rought iron pan and they do not add sour cream, instead use 1/2 stick of margerine and blend it with the dry ingredients until its like cornmeal. Also, 1/4 teaspoon of nutmeg is optional, but nice! Put a cross on top to let the devil out and bake for 40 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Paramus, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2010
yum!! cut recipe in half and subbed fat free vanilla yogurt (and an extra t. of baking powder!) for the sour cream. not too sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JKL

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fairfield, Ohio, USA
Living In: Middletown, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2010
Tastes great right out of the oven. Gave it as a gift and they loved it..Has a texture like cornbread and just the right touch of sweetness..I made it without the raisins..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bunny

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2010
I really loved this bread. A member of a club I belong to made this for our annual corned beef and cabbage fund raising dinner. When asked for the recipe, she stated it was a family secret. This is the recipe! I guess the family secret is allrecipes.com I followed the recipe exactly except I had to add a few tablespoons of milk because the batter was too stiff, as suggested by another reviewer. Still tasted great! Thank you ladies for sharing this wonderful recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 251) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Amazingly Easy Irish Soda Bread

See how to make old-fashioned Irish soda bread.

Irresistible Irish Soda Bread

This soda bread is dense and moist, thanks to the tangy addition of buttermilk.

Irish Soda Bread Cookies

Turn the flavors of soda bread into quick-and-easy cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States