Irish Soda Bread I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2010
This the best soda bread I've ever eaten. It was moist and didn't taste like baking soda. I gave some to my parents and they raved about it too! I used white whole wheat flour for all of the flour and half the amount of sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Vashon Island, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by tallygirl95
Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2010
This came out delicious. Made it just the way the recipie says.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tallygirl95

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Brooklyn, New York, USA
Living In: Lancaster, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2010
This was VERY good! I don't know what authentic soda bread tastes like, but this sure was good! There is no easier recipe for a good quickbread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2010
Good. I like it served warm.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MARIO1

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Abilene, Texas, USA
Living In: Early, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2010
Very easy to make.. and was very good.. I made it for some friends and all enjoyed...I followed the recipe exactly...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2010
I've made this bread every year for St. Patty's Day for the last four years. It is always a big hit and everyone wants the recipe. Since I only make it once a year, it always surprises me how sticky and unweilding the dough is. And every year I get to the point of dumping it in the loaf pan thinking it will surely be a disaster, and it miraculously turns out great! (Must be the luck of the Irish!) My only variations: I put the whole thing in one large loaf pan and have always omitted the raisins. The finished product is definately sweet and could be used for a breakfast or brunch bread. Love it with tons of butter!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2010
Not a traditional Irish Soda bread - more like a cake. Extremely delicious and moist.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2010
I really enjoyed this. I don't think it's cakey the way some have described it. I think it's just more moist than most soda breads. It has a nice balance of flavors and isn't too sweet. Best of all, it's extremely easy! I'll definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2010
First time trying this recipe. Used whole wheat flour, 4 medium eggs and about 1/2 the raisins. Was a little dry, but good. Served it with Corned beef, cabbage, etc. Very nice Irish meal. Beat the monotony of one more Italian dish. Family loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2010
finally a soda bread that is edible! I cut the recipe in half to make one loaf. Used 2 whole eggs and added 1/8 C. water since the batter was very stiff and thick. I'll be making this alot and not just on St.Patricks Day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Sewickley, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 257) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Amazingly Easy Irish Soda Bread

See how to make old-fashioned Irish soda bread.

Chef John's Irish Soda Bread

Classic recipe for an Irish quick bread.

Irresistible Irish Soda Bread

This soda bread is dense and moist, thanks to the tangy addition of buttermilk.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States