Irish Soda Bread I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2011
I cut the recipe in half and filled up 12 muffin tins instead of baking it in a loaf. I baked it at 325 for about 50 minutes. I wanted to make sure they weren't doughy in the middle, but 50 minutes might have been a bit long when they're so small. They were a little crispy on the outside but perfect inside! I added my own mixture sprinkled on top before I baked the muffins (cinnamon, sugar, ground nutmeg & ground ginger.) That was a nice addition. I wouldn't recommend using paper muffin tray liners though. Because the recipe doesn't have any butter in it, the batter stuck to parts of the liners. Just greasing the muffin pan would have been better than using liners. But overall, I was happy with the recipe and the small changes I made to it. Went great with my corn beef and cabbage Irish dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by METSgal31

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Milford, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Amston, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2011
I was looking for a recipe that didn't include caraway seeds (yuck!). This one was very easy to make and tasty. The recipe didn't specify, so I made one batch by hand and a second using my mixer. The batch made with the mixer did turn out better. The mixing time was kept to an absolute minimum to keep gluten from developing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Roswell, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2011
Wow, what an easy recipe! Plus it was really good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2011
It was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2011
So easy and so good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kmart0423
Home Town: Ozone Park, New York, USA
Living In: Lindenhurst, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2011
make sure you mix dry ingredients first
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2011
I made one slight change. I didn't have any sour cream. So I used Oikos 0% Greek Vanilla Yogurt instead. Um... yum
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2011
Excellent. The sour cream makes this soda bread more moist thatn your usual soda breads! I will only use THIS recipe on St. Patty's Day. For fun, I sometimes add some green food coloring (although, some people might think it's mold hehehe...).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2011
Very easy and good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2011
Best Irish Soda Bread Recipe Ever!!!! I now use this recipe every St. Pat's day and sometimes when I just feel like a nice thick slice of isle heaven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Huntsville, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 257) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Cool As A Cucumber Salad
Cool As A Cucumber Salad

We have over 100 cucumber salads to help you keep your cool.

Classic Meatloaf
Classic Meatloaf

Meatloaf is the hearty, family-pleasing meal that makes the greatest leftovers ever.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Amazingly Easy Irish Soda Bread

See how to make old-fashioned Irish soda bread.

Chef John's Irish Soda Bread

Classic recipe for an Irish quick bread.

Irresistible Irish Soda Bread

This soda bread is dense and moist, thanks to the tangy addition of buttermilk.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States