Irish Soda Bread I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2012
The absolute best soda bread. No changes to the recipe needed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2012
Loved it! Family Loved it! Never had soda bread before. It reminded me of a sweet raisin bread. Great warmed with butter. I cut the recipe in half which made only 1 loaf. Used 1 cup sour cream, only one egg and added 1/2 cup of milk. And made my 1/2 cup sugar heaping. Doubled the raisins. The rest of ingredients just in half. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by azdiamond

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2012
I made this recipe for the first time last year and it was a huge hit! This year when I made it, again, rave reviews! I prefer golden raisins, and this year, I simmered them on the stove in plenty of Irish whiskey, removed them from the heat, covered and let soak up the whiskey (I actually simmered 2 cups, but only used one in the recipe). When the raisins were cooked in the bread, they were plump, and had the slightest, really, ever so slight taste of the whiskey - one would have to know the raisins were soaked to identify the whiskey. Just a fun little addition to Irish Soda Bread - excellent recipe!!! By the way, the extra raisins taste terrific over vanilla ice-cream!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2012
Nice-- dense and cakelike with a little sweet. I served it with corned beef and cabbage last night and toasted it this morning with fried corned beef and eggs. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2012
I love this recipe! I use a bundt pan and sprinkle powdered sugar on top lightly. Makes a good-looking gift to take to a party, etc. This time I am going to mix raisins and craisins. Hope the luck of the Irish is on my side with this variation!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Franklin Square, New York, USA
Living In: Green Cove Springs, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2012
Awesome recipe! I am impressed at how moist it is. Easy to make and just perfect!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2012
I love the texture and perfect sweetness to this bread...it was delicious; esp warm and spread with some light butter
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2011
This is a favorite of ours. I add 1/2 cup of oil and increase the fruit to 1 1/2 cups. keep it in the fridge and slice thick and then toast. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2011
Perfect! Delicious! Will make again and again and again! Thank you Ms. Costello and Ms. Walters!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Barre, Vermont, USA
Living In: North Walpole, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2011
Having not actually tasted traditional Irish Soda Bread, I can't comment on its authenticity, however, it was super easy to make (gotta love the bread maker!) and very yummy. And as toast the next morning - heaven!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 252) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Celebrate Spring Salads
Celebrate Spring Salads

The most-tender new vegetables are here just in time for early spring salads!

Hearty Potato Soups
Hearty Potato Soups

Creamy, comforting potato soups will warm you up.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Amazingly Easy Irish Soda Bread

See how to make old-fashioned Irish soda bread.

Irresistible Irish Soda Bread

This soda bread is dense and moist, thanks to the tangy addition of buttermilk.

Irish Soda Bread Cookies

Turn the flavors of soda bread into quick-and-easy cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States