Irish Soda Bread I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2012
Nice-- dense and cakelike with a little sweet. I served it with corned beef and cabbage last night and toasted it this morning with fried corned beef and eggs. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2012
I love this recipe! I use a bundt pan and sprinkle powdered sugar on top lightly. Makes a good-looking gift to take to a party, etc. This time I am going to mix raisins and craisins. Hope the luck of the Irish is on my side with this variation!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Franklin Square, New York, USA
Living In: Green Cove Springs, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2012
Awesome recipe! I am impressed at how moist it is. Easy to make and just perfect!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2012
I love the texture and perfect sweetness to this bread...it was delicious; esp warm and spread with some light butter
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2011
This is a favorite of ours. I add 1/2 cup of oil and increase the fruit to 1 1/2 cups. keep it in the fridge and slice thick and then toast. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2011
Perfect! Delicious! Will make again and again and again! Thank you Ms. Costello and Ms. Walters!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Barre, Vermont, USA
Living In: North Walpole, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2011
Having not actually tasted traditional Irish Soda Bread, I can't comment on its authenticity, however, it was super easy to make (gotta love the bread maker!) and very yummy. And as toast the next morning - heaven!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2011
Delicious! I substituted one cup of whole wheat flour for the all-purpose flour, sifted 1 tsp of cardamom into the dry ingredients, then substituted currants for the raisins, and also added 1/4 cup of milk to the batter. It came out fabulous, rose beautifully, and had a nice golden color to the crust. I will definitely make this one again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by spanishdona

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Roxbury Township, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2011
It was wonderful...although I put a bit of milk on it...overall, it was great :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2011
This soda bread is wonderful! It's really easy to throw together, and comes out nice and moist. I thought the sweetness and the recommended amount of raisins were just right. I will definitely be making this many times. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 249) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Amazingly Easy Irish Soda Bread

See how to make old-fashioned Irish soda bread.

Irresistible Irish Soda Bread

This soda bread is dense and moist, thanks to the tangy addition of buttermilk.

Irish Soda Bread Cookies

Turn the flavors of soda bread into quick-and-easy cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States