Irish Soda Bread I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Photo by AgoEasyBakeOven
Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2009
I followed the directions perfectly and it was amazing. Very cake like and moist
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AgoEasyBakeOven

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Cornwall, New York, USA
Living In: Oneonta, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2009
I don't have a long history of eating Irish Soda Bread, but I love this bread. Our dear friend, Pat, can't wait for St. Patrick's Day every year, because I always make it for him along with a traditional corned beef dinner. What a treat! Thanks for a great recipe ladies. P.S. I don't change a thing and make the recipe as written.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2009
To me a reason for giving 5 stars is that I will make this recipe again. That's the case with this soda bread. Have made it more than once now and it seems to evaporate into thin air. This batch got an excellent rating from an Irish friend who knows more about soda bread than I do. For my latest batch, I wrapped the loaves in a damp tea cloth while they were hot. This made a moister crust which I prefer. Easy, inexpensive and yummy. Try it toasted!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Annie B

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: London, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2009
This was very good--a big hit in our home. Loved the cake-like texture. Great toasted for breakfast and also as a snack. I ended up adding 1-2 tbsp more of sourcream for moistness. Yummmm!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2009
Yummy but not the Irish Soda Bread I'm used to more cakeish like but good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2009
I got lots of compliments on this bread...and I didn't slave over it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LissaKatt
Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2009
We all loved this! I used currants, instead of raisins, as per another user's suggestion, and when my picky grown son asks for seconds on bread, it's a hit! Yes, it is more cake-like and sweet than traditional Irish soda bread, but none of us ever liked the traditional recipe! ;-) Next morning, we had it toasted for breakfast, and it was even more delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PORTIANAY

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Levittown, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Winchester, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2009
I have used it for years ... when my daughter needed to make something ethnic for a Girl Scout meeting. This year, I won first prize for bringing in two loaves for a bake off at work! $50! It's easy, it's yummy and it keeps well. IT IS AWESOME TOASTED!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KGRACEFF

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Milford, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2009
Wonderful. It was gobbled up at our St. Patrick's dinner faster than I would have anticipated! I added an additional 1/2 cup of golden raisins too which improved both the taste and the look of it when sliced.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2009
This was absolutely delicious and sooo moist. I even made one with blueberries and that went over quite well with my Irish relatives who are use to just raisins in their Irish Soda Bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amy P

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Taunton, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 121-130 (of 257) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Back To School Already?
Back To School Already?

Hard to believe, but many kids will be back in school at the end of the month. Get ready.

Cauliflower Recipes
Cauliflower Recipes

You won't believe all the things you can do with cauliflower. It's a great low-carb option.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Amazingly Easy Irish Soda Bread

See how to make old-fashioned Irish soda bread.

Chef John's Irish Soda Bread

Classic recipe for an Irish quick bread.

Irresistible Irish Soda Bread

This soda bread is dense and moist, thanks to the tangy addition of buttermilk.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States