Irish Soda Bread I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2009
it is much more cake like than regular soda bread but very very good...even better if you add some caraway seeds to it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2009
I have been making this for years and it's always a hit. It is definitely more cake-like then typical soda bread, but I prefer that to the typical rock hard that I've grown accustomed to. Make this, but be prepared to get critiques from your strict Irish friends who like the dry bread they are used to.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2009
I HAVE MADE THIS SEVERAL TIMES AND FOUND THAT IF I MADE IT WITH A LITTLE OIL, THE TEXTURE IS BETTER.. THE FLAVOR IS AWESOME AND A REAL HIT IN THE HOUSE..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cookingcub

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2009
This is such an easy recipe to do at the last minute when you want a home baked bread. My son, who hates cakes, is always asking for this bread. Recently he suggested cinnamon to be added and it was delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2009
Very good - my guests couldn't get enough!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bridgewater, New Jersey, USA
Photo by AgoEasyBakeOven
Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2009
I followed the directions perfectly and it was amazing. Very cake like and moist
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AgoEasyBakeOven

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Cornwall, New York, USA
Living In: Oneonta, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2009
I don't have a long history of eating Irish Soda Bread, but I love this bread. Our dear friend, Pat, can't wait for St. Patrick's Day every year, because I always make it for him along with a traditional corned beef dinner. What a treat! Thanks for a great recipe ladies. P.S. I don't change a thing and make the recipe as written.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2009
To me a reason for giving 5 stars is that I will make this recipe again. That's the case with this soda bread. Have made it more than once now and it seems to evaporate into thin air. This batch got an excellent rating from an Irish friend who knows more about soda bread than I do. For my latest batch, I wrapped the loaves in a damp tea cloth while they were hot. This made a moister crust which I prefer. Easy, inexpensive and yummy. Try it toasted!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Annie B

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: London, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2009
This was very good--a big hit in our home. Loved the cake-like texture. Great toasted for breakfast and also as a snack. I ended up adding 1-2 tbsp more of sourcream for moistness. Yummmm!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2009
Yummy but not the Irish Soda Bread I'm used to more cakeish like but good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 111-120 (of 252) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Amazingly Easy Irish Soda Bread

See how to make old-fashioned Irish soda bread.

Irresistible Irish Soda Bread

This soda bread is dense and moist, thanks to the tangy addition of buttermilk.

Irish Soda Bread Cookies

Turn the flavors of soda bread into quick-and-easy cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States