Irish Soda Bread I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2009
This is such an easy recipe to do at the last minute when you want a home baked bread. My son, who hates cakes, is always asking for this bread. Recently he suggested cinnamon to be added and it was delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2009
Very good - my guests couldn't get enough!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bridgewater, New Jersey, USA
Photo by AgoEasyBakeOven
Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2009
I followed the directions perfectly and it was amazing. Very cake like and moist
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AgoEasyBakeOven

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Cornwall, New York, USA
Living In: Oneonta, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2009
I don't have a long history of eating Irish Soda Bread, but I love this bread. Our dear friend, Pat, can't wait for St. Patrick's Day every year, because I always make it for him along with a traditional corned beef dinner. What a treat! Thanks for a great recipe ladies. P.S. I don't change a thing and make the recipe as written.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2009
To me a reason for giving 5 stars is that I will make this recipe again. That's the case with this soda bread. Have made it more than once now and it seems to evaporate into thin air. This batch got an excellent rating from an Irish friend who knows more about soda bread than I do. For my latest batch, I wrapped the loaves in a damp tea cloth while they were hot. This made a moister crust which I prefer. Easy, inexpensive and yummy. Try it toasted!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Annie B

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: London, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2009
This was very good--a big hit in our home. Loved the cake-like texture. Great toasted for breakfast and also as a snack. I ended up adding 1-2 tbsp more of sourcream for moistness. Yummmm!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2009
Yummy but not the Irish Soda Bread I'm used to more cakeish like but good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2009
I got lots of compliments on this bread...and I didn't slave over it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LissaKatt
Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2009
We all loved this! I used currants, instead of raisins, as per another user's suggestion, and when my picky grown son asks for seconds on bread, it's a hit! Yes, it is more cake-like and sweet than traditional Irish soda bread, but none of us ever liked the traditional recipe! ;-) Next morning, we had it toasted for breakfast, and it was even more delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PORTIANAY

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Levittown, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Winchester, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2009
I have used it for years ... when my daughter needed to make something ethnic for a Girl Scout meeting. This year, I won first prize for bringing in two loaves for a bake off at work! $50! It's easy, it's yummy and it keeps well. IT IS AWESOME TOASTED!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KGRACEFF

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Milford, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 111-120 (of 249) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Amazingly Easy Irish Soda Bread

See how to make old-fashioned Irish soda bread.

Irresistible Irish Soda Bread

This soda bread is dense and moist, thanks to the tangy addition of buttermilk.

Irish Soda Bread Cookies

Turn the flavors of soda bread into quick-and-easy cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States