Irish Soda Bread I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2010
I made this bread yesterday. I wanted to try it before St. Pat's Day. It is wonderful and very easy to make. It makes two nice loafs. I am giving one away today. I will bake it again for St. Pat's Day. Good job girls.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Baltimore, Maryland, USA
Living In: Lake Forest Park, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2010
I used whole wheat flour and non-fat plain yogurt (I only had whole wheat fl. and yogurt) and 1/2 a cup sugar. Turned out terrific, very easy to make!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mic

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2010
I make this recipie all the time, and love it... so does everyone else!! I add a little more raisins, or switch it up to a mix of raisins and dried cranberries, or other dried mixed fruit.... it just makes each bite so much sweeter and tastier. i also toast each slice and slather with butter... OMG !!! I better stop... off to the kitchen to make a loaf...lol
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RAZEinNY03

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Waldwick, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Middletown, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2010
I followed this recipe exactly but didn't get the 5 star results. Not what I expected. This was not a very flavorful bread, too dry and it was indeed cake like. It was better toasted with some butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2010
I have been eating Irish Soda Bread for years but never attempted to make it. This recipe was So easy and delicious. I substituted currants for the raisins and I did add 2 tablespoons of Carraway seeds. My aunt who has made Soda bread many times thought this was awesome and asked for the recipe. It was great toasted with butter. I will be making this many times.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Norwood, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Robert
Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2009
This is my first review written for Allrecipes.com. I halved this recipe, using 2 eggs, because I only have one loaf pan. Not only was this a really easy bread to make, but the results garnered rave reviews. Just follow the simple instructions ("mix until just combined" -- don't use a mixer!) and you will be rewarded with a very tasty and versatile bread. Thanks for posting, Arlene & Agnes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2009
This bread is so delicious! I used one cup of wheat flour in place of one cup of white. I also used 1/2 cup of raw brown sugar instead of the 1 cup of white sugar. This is a great recipe - thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by capecodcook79

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Barnstable, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2009
it is much more cake like than regular soda bread but very very good...even better if you add some caraway seeds to it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2009
I have been making this for years and it's always a hit. It is definitely more cake-like then typical soda bread, but I prefer that to the typical rock hard that I've grown accustomed to. Make this, but be prepared to get critiques from your strict Irish friends who like the dry bread they are used to.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2009
I HAVE MADE THIS SEVERAL TIMES AND FOUND THAT IF I MADE IT WITH A LITTLE OIL, THE TEXTURE IS BETTER.. THE FLAVOR IS AWESOME AND A REAL HIT IN THE HOUSE..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cookingcub

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 249) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Amazingly Easy Irish Soda Bread

See how to make old-fashioned Irish soda bread.

Irresistible Irish Soda Bread

This soda bread is dense and moist, thanks to the tangy addition of buttermilk.

Irish Soda Bread Cookies

Turn the flavors of soda bread into quick-and-easy cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States