Irish Soda Bread Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by aliza_25
Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2014
Loved these cookies! I made them for school as a project for Ireland. It was much easier to serve than Irish Soda Bread and I'm glad I chose this recipe. It was a big hit! My mom loves to eat it with tea. Thank you for this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2014
I'm tossing all my other soda bread recipes -- this one is awesome! Start to finish in an hour, and they are delicious! Easy to serve as well. I must have made them thicker, because I only got about 20 -- but they were perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2014
Just made these today for an early St. Pat's Day treat. They were delicious, although I got 30 cookies (not 36) rolled by hand. I added a little extra buttermilk, but then it got too sticky and I had to go back and add in some more flour. Might have had to do with the fact that I was handling the dough by hand rather than using cookie cutters. Also, subbed raisins for currants, because that's how my family has always made soda bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by finator

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Queens, New York, USA
Living In: Brooklyn, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Beths
Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2014
We liked this recipe. With or without caraway seeds! I am going to cut back on sugar a bit though. We thought they were a bit sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Beths

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2014
I just sampled some right out of the oven, and they're delicious! So easy to make. Did not add caraway seeds, but did add Craisins to half the batter. I can see adding other dried fruits, like apricots, as well. I cut back on the sugar a bit (which I usually do), and they were still plenty sweet for me. Instead of rolling/cutting, I just dropped by tablespoons onto sheets lightly sprayed with cooking spray. Baked 11 min and let rest for 5 min on sheets; they pretty much held their shape and are almost biscuit-like. A light glaze would be nice, too. Thanks for the recipe, Laria! I'll enjoy them this St Patty's Day weekend!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by andysbirde
Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2014
Did the recipe exactly as instructed. Rolled them out and cut in a four leaf clover for an Irish funeral I was attending. They baked on sil pads in a gas oven for 11 minutes, middle oven and turned out perfectly. I made a very light icing and sprinkled green sprinkles on them. Not one cookie left, made 26 cut out cookies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2013
Made these scone cookies for Christmas. Was a welcome change for all, big hit. Will make them for St. Pat's Day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Allamuchy, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2013
These are always a hit and great to bring to cultural events.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by OrkyZ

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Long Island, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2013
Made these for a St Patty's day themed meeting and all my coworkers loved them! What a very unique and great tasting cookie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2013
I made these for my St Patrick's day dessert and they were a huge hit. We had no currants so I substituted golden raisins. We also skipped the seeds for our first go round. Even my youngest who will usually turn his nose up at any kind of a cookie containing raisins absolutely loved them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 89) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Irish Soda Bread Cookies

Turn the flavors of soda bread into quick-and-easy cookies.

Amazingly Easy Irish Soda Bread

See how to make old-fashioned Irish soda bread.

The Best Rolled Sugar Cookies

See how to make the ultimate sugar cookie from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States