Irish Shepherd's Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2012
O I made this tonight with some provisions using hamburger, beef broth and green beans and carrots because i did not have lamb or peas.Used the directions and all other ingredients. It was fabulous and I deal with a 14 yr old critic who asked for seconds, this alone immediately put this into my favorites recipe box. Thanks John, I enjoy your light hearted humor while cooking, thank you for the flavor of food
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
63 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tami Turcotte

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2012
I made this last night also using ground beef and it received rave reviews at dinner. I did use beef broth for the liquid since I had to use ground beef. I thoroughly enjoyed it, which is unusual for me. Also, hubby, adult son, and teenage daughter ate it happily-no complaints from anyone! Hurray!! Chef John, I enjoyed watching you prepare it, that helps me when I am trying something for the first time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2012
Omg de-lish. Eyeballed ingredents (as we irish do) and it came out perfect. Dubliner cheese works really well w the potatoes. Perfect alternative for those who dont like corned beef.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kathleen

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by carmalex
Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2012
Excellent! This is truly the traditional shepherds pie. As the allrecipes.com video on this states…Shepherds raised sheep not cow, hence the use of lamb and not beef and the name "Shepherds Pie”. I made this exactly as written and it was delicious. I did make a mushroom gravy to go on top. A great one dish meal; for a crowd, or dinner for two with plenty of leftovers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2013
I've never had a cottage pie that I liked, they're always too bland, but made this one tonight on a whim, just because CJ hardly ever disappoints. I used ground beef and mixed veg, omitting rosemary and cinnamon, as they seemed more suited to lamb than beef. After tasting the beef mix, I wanted to boost the beefy flavor, so added 2 teaspoons beef base. Perfect flavor! I was worried that the beef mix was too thick, but after baking it was just right. I might add more cheese to the potatoes next time, or even toss some in with the beef. The bones of this recipe are great, producing a perfect pie that holds together but isn't dry at all. It could be easily adapted to other cuisines, using Mexican spices and topping with cornbread, or using soy sauce, Hoisin sauce and wasabi mashed potatoes for Asian flair. Finally, a really, really good gluten-free casserole! Thanks, Chef. And thanks for a new trick to remove oil from ground meat. I'll never try to drain hot oil again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lucylove

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Wesley Chapel, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2012
ugh! way too greasy for my family. I would drain the meat before adding the flour next time. My family doesn't appreciate intense flavors, so I will cut down on all the spices and use a more mild cheddar in the potatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2012
I had to use ground cow meat (not lamb, cowboy pie? Ha!) But it was delicious any way. Perfect recipe, and Chef John is amaizing, great teacher and makes cooking and enjoyable experience. Sorry for my poor English!.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2014
This recipe is wonderful.   I have no idea how anyone could call it bland - it is a delightful blend of amazing flavors. Everyone absolutely loved it!   I changed nothing except I had to substitute half a green pepper for half of the onion because I discovered that I only had half an onion in my fridge.  I think it's probably important to be patient when cooking the ground lamb to allow the liquid to evaporate (see the video). The potato topping was to die for - the Dubliner cheese (as opposed to a regular cheddar) added an amazing distinctive flavor.   If you use another meat and a different cheese, it's probably still really good,  but those changes would turn this recipe into something else completely.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2012
I made this with the suggested ground lamb, it came out great. It had alot of flavor everyone in the family loved it. I have made Shepherds Pie before but this one by far is one of the best.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ashland, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2014
Awesome. I used ground beef, beef broth instead of water, and old cheddar instead of dubliner cheese. Can't wait to try with lamb!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 109) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Irish Shepherd’s Pie

See how to make an amazing shepherd’s pie with a special Irish twist.

Shepherd's Pie VI

See how to make a simple one-pot meal the family will crave.

How to Make Veggie Shepherd’s Pie

Learn how to make a meat-free shepherd's pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States