Irish Shepherd's Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2013
Made this with grass-fed ground beef since I had a couple pounds I needed to use and didn't want to do my usual with it. Works very well with beef, but it does require a little tweaking to makeup for the loss of flavor when using ground lamb. The hardest part was getting my wife to not eat the delicious potato mixture before I added it to the meat!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2013
Excellent! Swiped out 2lb of lamb for 1lb of turkey and chopped eggplant...was so delicious...hubby tried to eat it all in one night! So good!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marion

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2013
I've made this several times for family and friends and each time it is a hit. I have served it to those that are less than excited about lamb and they have commented that it tastes much better than they expected it would. I would guard against using all of the mashed potatoes as they can easily overpower the good stuff underneath.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Bothell, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2013
We loved this dish! We felt the veal was a little strong of a flavor for us so might will try half veal and half ground beef next time, but will definitely be making it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2013
I always hated making Shepherds Pie, it was so boring:( But John's recipe was just what I needed to create a new version of Shepherds Pie:) I love this recipe. I changed his recipe just a bit to my husbands liking.( Who is Irish) Instead of peas & carrots I used green beans & mushrooms. I also added French fried onions on top of the potatoes. I hope my husband and I will enjoy this recipe:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Meadow Lake, Saskatchewan, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2013
Followed all but used Guinness instead of water. Came out amazing. Got fresh Lamb from the local Butcher. I think I'm in love with Chef John.....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2013
Nice change from the Corned Beef & Cabbage for traditional St Patty's day :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LOVES1031

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Hartsville, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2013
This was just amazing! I altered it by adding 2 TBSP of Worcestershire sauce and used Guinness instead of water. Best ever!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2013
Wonderful! I made this for a large group of guests and they all loved it! Only changes I made was to use ground beef instead of lamb, and I also used a little more flour. FRESH rosemary makes all the difference. Thank you for the recipe! I'll definitely be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by eck

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2013
I make this often, and I use ground moose. It is by far the best shepherd's pie I've ever had, and it is so good the next day for lunch...assuming my husband doesn't eat it all!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fairbanks, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 104) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Irish Shepherd’s Pie

See how to make an amazing shepherd’s pie with a special Irish twist.

Shepherd's Pie VI

See how to make a simple one-pot meal the family will crave.

Ground Beef Shepherd’s Pie

See a quick-and-easy version of beefy shepherd’s pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States