Irish Shepherd's Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2014
Bland!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Adam Rodgers

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2014
This recipe is wonderful.   I have no idea how anyone could call it bland - it is a delightful blend of amazing flavors. Everyone absolutely loved it!   I changed nothing except I had to substitute half a green pepper for half of the onion because I discovered that I only had half an onion in my fridge.  I think it's probably important to be patient when cooking the ground lamb to allow the liquid to evaporate (see the video). The potato topping was to die for - the Dubliner cheese (as opposed to a regular cheddar) added an amazing distinctive flavor.   If you use another meat and a different cheese, it's probably still really good,  but those changes would turn this recipe into something else completely.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2014
Made this with lean ground beef and added a bit of stout beer to the gravy. We enjoyed it very much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ReneePaj

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Living In: Brunswick, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2014
it was excellent,everybody loved it,will make it again this st. patty's day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2014
This is a fantastic recipe! Very versatile, easy to make, and makes a great meal! Thanks, Chef John!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Garland, Texas, USA
Living In: Denton, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2014
The best recipe I've found for shepherd's pie. I found that lamb and cinnamon are naturals together, so thanks to this recipe, I now use cinnamon with lamb in many other dishes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Paul Williams

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2014
I made this last night using beef which was all I had in my refrigerator. It turned out so great! My husband loved it and took the leftovers to work for his lunch. it really is easy to follow and the meat mixture is so fragrant and tasty I really loved it. I added a dash of chili powder to the meat mixture just to give it some bite and what can I say - they gobbled it all up!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Beeba

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: New York, New York, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2014
I've had ground lamb in the freezer for months and was searching for something to do with it. This recipe was perfect. The flavors blended so well and complemented one another flawlessly. Definitely on the "must make again" list.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2014
Delish! Thank you Chef John for a delicious recipe, we loved it! I used ground turkey and instead of carrots I used organic frozen butternut squash and organic frozen sweet potatoes with the peas. Yum! All the flavors went together very nicely and I will make this again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2014
Every one liked it & it served all 7 of us. Took longer to prepare then we thought it would so will allow more time in future. No changes on the potatoes but with the meat we used hamburger seasoned with the onions, salt, pepper, 21 season, katsup & garlic & used beef broth. Changed the veggies to green beans & corn. Jan 2014
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 120) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Irish Shepherd’s Pie

See how to make an amazing shepherd’s pie with a special Irish twist.

Shepherd's Pie VI

See how to make a simple one-pot meal the family will crave.

How to Make Veggie Shepherd’s Pie

Learn how to make a meat-free shepherd's pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States