Irish Shepherd's Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2014
This is a great recipe. I made a few changes. I only had 1 pound of lamb on hand, so I reduced the other ingredients slightly. For the meat mixture, I added ½ teaspoon of smoked paprika to the regular paprika, and I used fresh carrots and frozen peas. I also added some chopped canned tomatoes, added some worcestershire sauce, and replaced the water with homemade stock. For the mashed potatoes, the only change I made was using garlic chive cream cheese, which was the only one I had left. I loved the addition of the cinnamon, it took the flavor to a whole new level. I've tried many shepherd's pie recipes, and this will be the one I'll stick with from now on. Even my son, who usually is not crazy about shepherd's pie, devoured this one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Claudia

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Marina Del Rey, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2014
I halved the recipe and used ground beef instead of lamb. I'm sure it's even better with the lamb. My husband, who is a picky eater, really enjoyed this dish. It's a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Medford, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Naples, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2014
Just sort of made this recipe. I couldn't follow the directions exactly simply because we have a dairy allergy and an onion allergy. So I skipped the butter and onion in the stew. Then because mashed potatoes just aren't the same without butter and milk/cream and we cannot use the cheese I chose to dice the potatoes and add them to the stew. For some more color I also added in some sliced carrots. So basically lamb stew.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SONYAWOOD

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2014
AMAZING!! first time making shepherd's pie for my irish husband and it was a hit! i will definately make this again, maybe just use a little less cinnamon next time. the cinnamon gives a great different flavor- like a secret ingredient- but it was a little too much for us
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2014
I thought the meat was a bit bland & greasy. I will make this again, next time I will heavy up on the seasoning and drain the meat prior to adding the water.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Natascha

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Radcliff, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Louisville, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2014
Love it! I used hamburger and drained some of the fat before adding flour, etc. The cinnamon and rosemary is just fantastic. My bf is a chef that of course, never cooks at home and he loved it too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2014
This is it! I know everyone has a picky eater or 3 in their family, but my DH takes the cake...actually he won't eat most cake, that's how picky! But this was heavenly! I had planned on making lamb meatballs as an appetizer in the near future, but needed a dinner meal one night. Decided on this and am I glad I did! I halved the recipe as it's just the 2 of us, but leftovers would have been very welcome! As a halfer, I used 3 cloves of garlic, cuz why not, a little extra ketchup, and had some mint on hand so chopped a bit of that in. It was so flavorful, I can't imagine how others think it is bland...season to taste!!! I used lamb, not 50/50 beef/lamb, or turkey, just go ahead and try it with the main ingredient-it is worth it! I did drain a bit of fat off after the browning, and used chicken broth instead of water-but that's it!! If hubby approved, then you are all in for a real treat with this one!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2014
Though I liked it and it was fun to make and put all the ingredients together, it just didn't come up to the flavor I was expecting. I used 1# ground lamb and 1# ground beef. Otherwise followed the recipe as written. For us it was good, but not great. Maybe it was in the Irish Cheese...we just did not care for it and seemed to give the potatoes an odd taste. But, that is purely our tastebuds.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Fort Myers, Florida, USA
Living In: Lowell, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2014
I used beef and left out the spices and seasonings I think were meant to go with lamb. I also just topped with mashed potatoes. Delish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2014
I cooked two cups of lentils and used them instead of lamb and it's wonderful. I used coarse mustard instead of ketchup and plain Greek yogurt instead of sugar. Delicious and meat eaters were just as pleased.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 110) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Irish Shepherd’s Pie

See how to make an amazing shepherd’s pie with a special Irish twist.

Shepherd's Pie VI

See how to make a simple one-pot meal the family will crave.

How to Make Veggie Shepherd’s Pie

Learn how to make a meat-free shepherd's pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States