Irish Shepherd's Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by LynnS
Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2015
By mistake I bought ground lamb instead of beef-but it wasn't a mistake making this recipe!!! Oh so good !!! And so easy to make...nice on a cold Saturday night eating in front of our fireplace! Try it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Angel Krasno
Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2014
I made this tonight and the family lived it! Even the 2 year old asked more. I will made this again. I added a small tub of ricotta cheese to the mashed potatoes made them even creamier.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Angel Krasno

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2014
I love lamb and love this recipe. It makes A LOT though so make sure you have a crowd to feed! It's very filling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sonjagroset

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2014
lovely. The paprika is something that never would have crossed my mind, It added a really special secondary zing to the recipe I also made the potatoes with my Irish Grandma Faye Kelly's recipe. = Some sour cream, butter and plenty of chives as well as the cheese and cayenne. What a great, hearty meal for a cold Autumn night.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Canyon, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2014
So good ! Added a bit of Worcestershire to meat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2014
I feel its only fair to rate a recipe exactly as written. Once you add and tweak, its a different recipe. I intended to make this recipe exactly as directed until I got to the grocery store and realized lamb is $9.99 a pound and this calls for two pounds. [Beware!] Since there are two of us, I cut the entire recipe in half. My grocery (Meijer) doesn't carry frozen peas and carrots, so I had to buy a bag of each. [Beware!] My grocery also doesn't carry the cheese called for in this recipe, so I used the only "Irish" cheese I could find which was aged cheddar. [Beware] I don't have time to shop at multiple groceries or specialty stores. You'd think I would've said "heck with it" at this point, but I proceeded. As I said, I made the recipe EXACTLY as directed (except I cut it in half). It was just okay. A lot of work for an "okay" recipe. I would advise cutting out the cayenne pepper--it's not needed and seems to throw the flavor profile off. I might also use beef broth instead of water to give the gravy a little more flavor. That's my two cents. Sorry, Chef John. Usually I enjoy your recipes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2014
My husband said this was the best shepherds pie I made so far! I used ground beef and cheddar cheese and added some corn, otherwise I followed the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brittanne
Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2014
Incredible! I didn't have lamb so used lean ground beef and it was perfect. My husband took one taste and mumbled 'keeper' . Now THAT is a compliment! I can't imagine using instant mashed, the Yukon gold potatoes are the only way to go. Thank you so much! I've been looking for something new to put in the rotation and I don't need to look any further.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Laura Hudson Grant

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Carpentersville, Illinois, USA
Living In: Lake Villa, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2014
So so very good. I used milk instead of water. And I added 1tsp of beef broth concentrate as some had recommended. I also used hamburger and omitted the cinnamon. This was a hit with my husband and the kids. Will definitely be making this agai
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by AlanaKadas
Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2014
Really, really, really good! I subbed the lamb out for ground Italian sausage and oh man, yum! The potatoes alone are to die for and reminded me of the inside of a pierogie. It was a big hit in our household and I'll definitely be making it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AlanaKadas

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: York, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 120) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Irish Shepherd’s Pie

See how to make an amazing shepherd’s pie with a special Irish twist.

Shepherd's Pie VI

See how to make a simple one-pot meal the family will crave.

How to Make Veggie Shepherd’s Pie

Learn how to make a meat-free shepherd's pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States