Irish Shepherd's Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2015
Ground lamb is typically pretty fatty, so I substituted half with ground turkey and drained the grease before adding the flour. Also I don't tolerate dairy, so instead of cheese added 2 yolks and one egg to the mashed potatoes, I didn't bother peeling them either.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2015
This was great, exactly as written. I'm usually an experimenter, but this one seemed perfect, as is, and it definitely was.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ellonwheels

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bowdon, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2015
Made this recipe exactly as written the first time and thought it was delicious. Very flavorful and filling. The second time I made it, I adjusted it just a little for my taste and it was even better (for me). Instead of ketchup I used Sriracha sauce, and used Guinness for half of the water. Definitely in my rotation, but I will try it with other meats as the lamb was expensive. I'm also going to add some garlic to the mashed potatoes; helps keep the vampires away.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by LynnS
Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2015
By mistake I bought ground lamb instead of beef-but it wasn't a mistake making this recipe!!! Oh so good !!! And so easy to make...nice on a cold Saturday night eating in front of our fireplace! Try it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Angel Krasno
Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2014
I made this tonight and the family lived it! Even the 2 year old asked more. I will made this again. I added a small tub of ricotta cheese to the mashed potatoes made them even creamier.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Angel Krasno

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2014
I love lamb and love this recipe. It makes A LOT though so make sure you have a crowd to feed! It's very filling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sonjagroset

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2014
lovely. The paprika is something that never would have crossed my mind, It added a really special secondary zing to the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Canyon, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2014
So good ! Added a bit of Worcestershire to meat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2014
I intended to make this recipe exactly as directed until I got to the grocery store and realized lamb is $9.99 a pound and this calls for two pounds. [Beware!] Since there are two of us, I cut the entire recipe in half. My grocery (Meijer) doesn't carry frozen peas and carrots, so I had to buy a bag of each. [Beware!] My grocery also doesn't carry the cheese called for in this recipe, so I used the only "Irish" cheese I could find which was aged cheddar. [Beware] I don't have time to shop at multiple groceries or specialty stores. You'd think I would've said "heck with it" at this point, but I proceeded. As I said, I made the recipe EXACTLY as directed (except I cut it in half). It was just okay. A lot of work for an "okay" recipe. I would advise cutting out the cayenne pepper--it's not needed and seems to throw the flavor profile off. I might also use beef broth instead of water to give the gravy a little more flavor. That's my two cents. Sorry, Chef John. Usually I enjoy your recipes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2014
My husband said this was the best shepherds pie I made so far! I used ground beef and cheddar cheese and added some corn, otherwise I followed the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brittanne

Displaying results 1-10 (of 123) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Celebrate Spring Salads
Celebrate Spring Salads

The most-tender new vegetables are here just in time for early spring salads!

Hearty Potato Soups
Hearty Potato Soups

Creamy, comforting potato soups will warm you up.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Irish Shepherd’s Pie

See how to make an amazing shepherd’s pie with a special Irish twist.

A Scotsman's Shepherd Pie

See a version of shepherd pie with lamb, mashed potatoes, and Cheddar cheese.

Shepherd's Pie VI

See how to make a simple one-pot meal the family will crave.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States