Irish Shepherd's Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2014
This is it! I know everyone has a picky eater or 3 in their family, but my DH takes the cake...actually he won't eat most cake, that's how picky! But this was heavenly! I had planned on making lamb meatballs as an appetizer in the near future, but needed a dinner meal one night. Decided on this and am I glad I did! I halved the recipe as it's just the 2 of us, but leftovers would have been very welcome! As a halfer, I used 3 cloves of garlic, cuz why not, a little extra ketchup, and had some mint on hand so chopped a bit of that in. It was so flavorful, I can't imagine how others think it is bland...season to taste!!! I used lamb, not 50/50 beef/lamb, or turkey, just go ahead and try it with the main ingredient-it is worth it! I did drain a bit of fat off after the browning, and used chicken broth instead of water-but that's it!! If hubby approved, then you are all in for a real treat with this one!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2014
Though I liked it and it was fun to make and put all the ingredients together, it just didn't come up to the flavor I was expecting. I used 1# ground lamb and 1# ground beef. Otherwise followed the recipe as written. For us it was good, but not great. Maybe it was in the Irish Cheese...we just did not care for it and seemed to give the potatoes an odd taste. But, that is purely our tastebuds.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Fort Myers, Florida, USA
Living In: Lowell, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2014
I used beef and left out the spices and seasonings I think were meant to go with lamb. I also just topped with mashed potatoes. Delish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2014
I cooked two cups of lentils and used them instead of lamb and it's wonderful. I used coarse mustard instead of ketchup and plain Greek yogurt instead of sugar. Delicious and meat eaters were just as pleased.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2014
I followed the recipe as directed but added some Montreal seasoning, ketchup and pepper after tasting it. Too bland, and I am not sure why I can't find a pie recipe with layers of flavor. I am not sure how to fix this, maybe use beef broth instead of water? I really liked the potato topping. koriander
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2014
When I was making this I wondered why I was going to all this work. After one bite, I had my answer. It was wonderful. I followed the recipe exactly and we loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Winterset, Iowa, USA
Living In: Scottsdale, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2014
Delish! Made with cheddar cheese instead of the other cheese and it turned out great. I will make again. Make sure to salt the lamb.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Vanessa

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2014
Absolutley delicious. Mad no changes
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2014
Kalan really enjoyed this. It didn't need any modifications. I did use ground beef instead of lamb and cheddar cheese (or whatever is on hand).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Kwald00
Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2014
I tried this recipe with ground beef and followed the recipe as stated above. The only problem was that it was too liquidy. I think maybe because beef renders more fat than lamb?? Anyhow, it was still delicious! Next time I make it, I will drain the beef before adding the rest of the ingredients.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kwald00

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 104) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Irish Shepherd’s Pie

See how to make an amazing shepherd’s pie with a special Irish twist.

Shepherd's Pie VI

See how to make a simple one-pot meal the family will crave.

Ground Beef Shepherd’s Pie

See a quick-and-easy version of beefy shepherd’s pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States