Irish Shepherd's Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2014
Delish! Made with cheddar cheese instead of the other cheese and it turned out great. I will make again. Make sure to salt the lamb.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Vanessa

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2014
Absolutley delicious. Mad no changes
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2014
Kalan really enjoyed this. It didn't need any modifications. I did use ground beef instead of lamb and cheddar cheese (or whatever is on hand).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Kwald00
Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2014
I tried this recipe with ground beef and followed the recipe as stated above. The only problem was that it was too liquidy. I think maybe because beef renders more fat than lamb?? Anyhow, it was still delicious! Next time I make it, I will drain the beef before adding the rest of the ingredients.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2014
Loooks good - QUESTION Could I make this recipe the night before? Or would the potatoes on top...not be a good choice overnight in the frig?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2014
I made one minor change to this recipe: I used 1lb ground beef and 1lb ground lamb because Wegman's only had one pkg of ground lamb left. Everything else is exactly according to the recipe. My husband loved it! I thought it was delicious too. I didn't use Dubliner's cheese but I did use another Irish Cheddar. Next time I hope to make it with all lamb. Also next time I'd cut down on the liquid because mine didn't thicken as much as I would've liked.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2014
Just so so. Not much flavor imo.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by eat2live

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2014
Delicious! I made it exactly like Chef John did the first time. Second time, I wanted to substitute a stout beer for the water. It intensified the flavors. Yum! The third time, I used Substitute "Low Carb Mashed Cauliflower" for the mashed potato crust. Excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2014
Lamb is too expensive, we don't like mutton, so we use beef. When using beef, you don't have to use all that hot pepper to mask the flavor of the meat. With these changes the Shepards Pie is a real hit in our house. I use this dish for pot-luck dinners a lot, and the dish comes home empty every time. I think that says more than anything else. Make it your way and enjoy. That's what it really is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2014
Great recipe and FINALLY a shepherd's pie with lamb. I've never seen a shepherd herding cows. It's 9:30 in the morning still this recipe made me drool. I skipped the cream cheese, there's enough fat in the potatoes without it and the taste doesn't suffer without it either.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 99) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Irish Shepherd’s Pie

See how to make an amazing shepherd’s pie with a special Irish twist.

Shepherd's Pie VI

See how to make a simple one-pot meal the family will crave.

Ground Beef Shepherd’s Pie

See a quick-and-easy version of beefy shepherd’s pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States