Irish Shepherd's Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2015
Love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mnhkitchen

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Indiana, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2015
Better than mom's. This recipe is one of my faves I love it, I have yet to make it with lamb Ive been using ground beef.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ashliev

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Jennifer Korpak Bechtel
Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2015
Works great with Ground beef in place of lamb. Also, instead of adding water to the ground beef mixture, I added a 15 oz. can of beef broth and omitted the salt. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer Korpak Bechtel

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Union Lake, Michigan, USA
Living In: Milton, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2015
I made this recipe today and completely fell in love with it. I followed the comments and used beef broth instead of water. I actually used a pound of ground chicken and ground beef since my husband actually used the 2nd pound of ground beef. It was so delicious that I ate more than I should have. I will definitely be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2015
My first attempt at homemade Shepherd's Pie was a success! I replaced half the lamb with beef (I was lucky to find lamb as I live in the Southwest and is not usually stocked, my luck may be due to the fact I bought it St. Patrick's day weekend). I also spiced it only using salt and pepper and used beef broth instead of water for a richer gravy. I enjoyed mine with a very cold Guiness! I will make this again! Maybe even as a new tradition for St. Paddy's!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rachel Lamb

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2015
Wow! What a great flavor! The only change I made is that I used ground beef instead of lamb. I was a little apprehensive about the different seasonings coming together, but it was definitely a flavor I wouldn't change! I would also suggest using Dubliner® cheese and not an American cheddar...it really does make a difference!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christal Lyn

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Rogers, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2015
great for hungry boys!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Old Forge, New York, USA
Living In: Moscow, Moscow (Federal City), Russia

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2015
Really good! Hubby & I love lamb so this was a fun way to celebrate St. Paddy's Day, having something new to try. The cayenne gave this dish a nice kick. Looking forward to sharing this with others next year.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2015
We made it tonight for St Patrick's Day. Lamb is expensive! I will make it again but I'll probably use ground pork. The meat mixture is tasty and a little sweet. I've never cooked with rutabagas before. They turned such a lovely yellow. The colors were beautiful. The potato topping was sharp and rich. Altogether, yummy! Changing out the meat would make it affordable for most budgets.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2015
Look no further for an authentic tasting Shepherd's pie! I lived in Ireland for a year. Although Shepherd's pie is not regularly served in restaurants, it is more of a "family" dish (think American meatloaf or tuna casserole). Made this today with half lamb half beef. Left out the rosemary (glad I did), and subbed cut green beans (pre-cooked to soften) instead of peas because my husband doesn't like peas. Otherwise pretty much followed exactly. The cinnamon is key! The entire family loved it! Will definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NikkysNiche

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tallahassee, Florida, USA
Living In: Baton Rouge, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 139) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Salsa from Mild to Wild
Salsa from Mild to Wild

Salsa is the fresh condiment you can make at home and put on everything.

Healthy, Delicious Recipes
Healthy, Delicious Recipes

Whether you're going low-carb, low fat, paleo, or gluten-free, we have recipes just for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Irish Shepherd’s Pie

See how to make an amazing shepherd’s pie with a special Irish twist.

A Scotsman's Shepherd Pie

See a version of shepherd pie with lamb, mashed potatoes, and Cheddar cheese.

Shepherd's Pie VI

See how to make a simple one-pot meal the family will crave.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States