Irish Shepherd's Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 28, 2015
There are two things I love : trying new recipes and lamb. I would agree with many people that this recipe lacks one step, to drain off the fat after cooking the lamb. But other than that this is a beautiful recipe. In the end when I sat it down in front of me it had the aroma I knew but a taste that could only be described as heavenly. I added the peas and carrots frozen and after the baking was done the vegetables were firm and crisp instead of mushy. FANTASTIC! Next time I'm substituting some beer for some of the water.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michael J. Eber

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2015
When the recipe is followed exactly, the meat mixture is actually pretty mild tasting, and lacking flavor. We fixed it up by doubling the seasoning, adding chicken broth and as a last ditch effort to boost the flavor, my boyfriend dropped a curry cube into it. As for the potatoes, I LOVED the cayenne pepper in it, giving them a surprise kick! I would make this again, but with my own modifications. also I would double the mashed potatoes, since they provided a very thin layer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2015
I used beef instead so I left out the cinnamon and rosemary and used the beef broth stuff with the base instead of water. And, I don't like veggies so I left those out too, but it was still awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2015
Chef John - you never let me down! This was a huge hit at our house. My only change was to use ground turkey instead of beef. I've been looking for a recipe that didn't use canned soup as a base and this one was absolutely delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2015
Love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mnhkitchen

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Indiana, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2015
Better than mom's. This recipe is one of my faves I love it, I have yet to make it with lamb Ive been using ground beef.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ashliev

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Jennifer Korpak Bechtel
Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2015
Works great with Ground beef in place of lamb. Also, instead of adding water to the ground beef mixture, I added a 15 oz. can of beef broth and omitted the salt. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer Korpak Bechtel

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Union Lake, Michigan, USA
Living In: Milton, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2015
I made this recipe today and completely fell in love with it. I followed the comments and used beef broth instead of water. I actually used a pound of ground chicken and ground beef since my husband actually used the 2nd pound of ground beef. It was so delicious that I ate more than I should have. I will definitely be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2015
My first attempt at homemade Shepherd's Pie was a success! I replaced half the lamb with beef (I was lucky to find lamb as I live in the Southwest and is not usually stocked, my luck may be due to the fact I bought it St. Patrick's day weekend). I also spiced it only using salt and pepper and used beef broth instead of water for a richer gravy. I enjoyed mine with a very cold Guiness! I will make this again! Maybe even as a new tradition for St. Paddy's!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rachel Lamb

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2015
Wow! What a great flavor! The only change I made is that I used ground beef instead of lamb. I was a little apprehensive about the different seasonings coming together, but it was definitely a flavor I wouldn't change! I would also suggest using Dubliner® cheese and not an American cheddar...it really does make a difference!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christal Lyn

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Rogers, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 143) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Sweet Summer Desserts
Sweet Summer Desserts

Summertime is all the sweeter with light desserts that satisfy without weighing you down.

Let's Make Zucchini Bread
Let's Make Zucchini Bread

Buried in zucchini? It's time to make zucchini bread! Choose from over 100 recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Irish Shepherd’s Pie

See how to make an amazing shepherd’s pie with a special Irish twist.

A Scotsman's Shepherd Pie

See a version of shepherd pie with lamb, mashed potatoes, and Cheddar cheese.

Shepherd's Pie VI

See how to make a simple one-pot meal the family will crave.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States