Irish Root Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2013
wonderfully hearty, vegetarian soup. Can't wait to make it again---it was a huge hit in my home.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2013
Fam loves it it's my fav potato leek soup recipe the only thing I do different is instead of vegetable stock I used chicken
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by make_a_mess

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Ontario, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2013
I have made this twice and my boyfriend and I love it!I agree with other reviews -- I don't think the heavy cream is not needed. It is thick and delicious without it (and saves you a few calories).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2013
I love this soup and I will make more of it. Mise en place is important in this recipe so make sure you chop everything up prior to creating the soup. I will definitely make this again very soon (like tonight).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2013
This was delicious! My husband is not a huge fan of white potatoes so I substituted one large sweet potato for two of the white potatoes. It turned out very well and the whole family enjoyed it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2013
Used chicken stock and a dash of half and half instead of heavy cream and a blended with a hand mixer. It was a really easy recipe that produced a creamy, satisfying soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Tracey Ferrari Posner
Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2013
What a nice way to warm up on a cold day! We loved this soup! I reduced the amount of butter and substituted EVOO instead and at the end, when it was time to puree it, I just used my immersion blender because it was just so much more effective that way. Such a good soup! I shredded up some Irish chees to sprinkle on top. It was creamy, silky, and full of flavor. Thank you for the recipe. I will be making this again for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tracey Ferrari Posner

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Apex, North Carolina, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2013
Five stars! And I don't take those lightly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by brooklynsurecooks

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Topsfield, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Brooklyn, New York, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2012
This was very hearty! And excellent veggie soup for winter. I used 5 small-to-meduim red potatoes and one medium turnip. I left out the celery, too (because I don't like celery.)I also forgot to add the cream later, but didn't really notice its absense. Like everyone else, I found the blending instructions cumbersome. I ended up pureeing two thirds of the soup and then mixing it back together again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2012
I used all the ingredients listed, but the preparation sounded way too over-complicated for a simple soup. I made everything in one pot - cooked the carrots with the potatoes after adding 4 cups of chicken broth (because I was out of vegetable stock) to the sauteed veggies. Then I used an immersion blender just enough to thicken it while still leaving some small chunks of potatoes and carrot pieces. Stirred in the cream last and garnished with a little cheddar and crumbled bacon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
49 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by nanerdc

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 29) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Not The Same Old Chicken
Not The Same Old Chicken

We have so many top-rated chicken recipes, you'll never run out of dinner ideas again.

Slow Cooker Time Savers
Slow Cooker Time Savers

Imagine dinner making itself in the slow cooker while you relax or do other things.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Irish Bacon and Cabbage Soup

Vegetable soup made decadent with bacon.

Chef John's Irish Pork Stew

Now here’s what we should be eating for St. Patrick’s Day!

The Best Thai Coconut Soup

A delicious, must-have soup recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States