Irish Root Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2014
It was delicious!!! Just added a little freshly grated nutmeg and topped with some sautéed swiss chard!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tammy Gibson

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Worth, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2014
I made this on St. Patrick's day, it was fantastic! Made it just as prescribed. The longest part was pureeing the soup. Everyone loved it. Will definitely keep this recipe handy on cold days when something hot and nutritious is called on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2014
This soup was yummy! It reminded me of the soups we were served in Irish pubs on our vacation. While onion, leeks, garlic and celery were sautéing in stock pot- I cut up potatoes and carrots, put them in microwave safe bowl and placed them on baked potato setting. I added chicken broth to stock pot, then the potato/carrots from microwave which were now cooked, 2 chicken bullion cubes (dissolved), some pepper and some McCormicks Perfect Pinch Vegetable seasoning(love it for soup). Added the cream and use immersion blender to blend. Topped with a little shredded cheese. Great comfort food!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by annpp

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2014
First off I encourage everyone to try this recipe. I chose this recipe for me to eat on St Patty's Day. I like the fact that is uses Vegetable stock. I'm trying to cut down on meat and salt. I had some homemade vegetable stock in the freezer. Also I don't eat white potatoes so I chose to use cauliflower in place of the potatoes. Because I was making this, Irish chicken and Dumplings and Bailey's Irish Cream cupcakes at the same time, I made this recipe as easy as possible not following exact recipe. I did use my Vitamix to puree all but 2 cups of the soup. We loved it. My husband and MIL who are heavy handed with the salt never even touch the salt shaker. This is a wonderful soup. Thanks so much for sharing!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kathy McFadden

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2013
This soup is incredible. The flavors were rich and deep and complex and we just loved it! This will certainly be a family winter recipe for years to come.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2013
wonderfully hearty, vegetarian soup. Can't wait to make it again---it was a huge hit in my home.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2013
Fam loves it it's my fav potato leek soup recipe the only thing I do different is instead of vegetable stock I used chicken
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by make_a_mess

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Ontario, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2013
I have made this twice and my boyfriend and I love it!I agree with other reviews -- I don't think the heavy cream is not needed. It is thick and delicious without it (and saves you a few calories).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2013
I love this soup and I will make more of it. Mise en place is important in this recipe so make sure you chop everything up prior to creating the soup. I will definitely make this again very soon (like tonight).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2013
This was delicious! My husband is not a huge fan of white potatoes so I substituted one large sweet potato for two of the white potatoes. It turned out very well and the whole family enjoyed it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 24) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Irish Stew

This simple lamb stew is too good to eat just once a year.

Chef John's Irish Pork Stew

Now here’s what we should be eating for St. Patrick’s Day!

Greek Lentil Soup

See how to make a simple, traditional Greek lentil soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States