Irish Pound Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by TheBritishBaker
Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2011
Thank you Grandma O'Grady for such a wonderful recipe (Grandma's are just the best cooks!!!), and appreciate you sharing it Maryann. This cake is just so rich and moist (although I guess any recipe that uses 6 large eggs and a cup of butter is going to be luxurious!!!). I actually choose this recipe as I needed to use up some cream cheese and loved the fact it was an newly published one. The only thing I will say is to watch the bake time, my oven needed less than the hour. Now that I have this wonderful recipe I plan to play around with all combinations of flavors...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
79 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TheBritishBaker

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bakewell, Derbyshire, England, U.K.
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2012
This recipe has such potential! After following the recipe exactly, I found this cake to be on the "dry" side. Also, upon tasting, I couldn't detect the whiskey at all ~ I was so hoping for a more prominent flavor trace of it. I will definitely make this again, however, next time I'll add maybe a bit more whiskey just to bring the flavor up a notch. Also, I may add 1/2 cup of heavy cream and see where that takes us.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FireGuysWife

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: Aguanga, California, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2011
This is a great recipe! We substituted Nutmeg for the Mace and it still turned out wonderfully.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2012
I give this 5 stars for taste! I wouldn't call this a pound cake though. It's too light. I made this in a sheet pan so I could cut it into bite size pieces for a chocolate fountain so maybe that's why it was too light. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Logansport, Indiana, USA
Living In: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2011
The best pound cake I have ever eaten. You can credit Mrs. O'Grady and her lovely recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2012
Oh my, sooooo good! I made a glaze with confectioners sugar, vanilla extract- and more Irish whiskey! Err, don't make the mistake I did and put it in a bundt pan. It almost overflowed!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cynthia St Louis

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Upton, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Cranston, Rhode Island, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2012
LOVED it! To be fair, I did not have Irish Whiskey - so I used Jim Beam Bourbon Whiskey. Delish! After reading other reviews, I did cut my baking time by 5 minutes and I used nutmeg in place of mace. Moist, not too sweet with just the right taste of whiskey. Served it with Apple Berry Salsa. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2012
very flavorful and cooks up perfectly. The whisky flavor is not too powerful. The only adjustment I made was reducing the mace to a scant pinch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2012
Got great reviews at the party. I will definitely keep this in my go - to recipe file.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2013
I am kind of let down by this recipe being as it is 5 stars and the great reviews. I followed the recipe exactly with the only change being that I halved it and put it into a mini bundt cake pan. I was trying out a couple of recipes for St. Patricks Day. Anyway, the problem I had was with the taste and texture of the cake. It was super sweet, spongy like, and closer to a yellowish colored angel food cake in taste and texture. The cake was almost reminiscent of a twinkie without the filling. I was so expecting a dense and not overly sweet cake from the picture, which is what I really wanted. I also lost about 1/4 of the mini bundt cakes, due to tearing on the top. Although, that was my choice to make mini ones. The cake will rise about 1/2" above where the battered is poured so plan that when choosing a bundt cake pan size.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Holiday Baker

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 25) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Cream Cheese Pound Cake III

A classic recipe for a cream cheese pound cake.

GA Peach Pound Cake

Delectable and dense pound cake loaded with juicy and sweet peach chunks.

Golden Rum Cake

A yummy, rummy Bundt cake with a simple butter-rum glaze.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States