Irish Potatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2001
These are wonderfully easy to to make and taste great! My 5 year old made these all by herself with great ease... it was so much fun to shake the candy in the bag. And these fix up in just minutes. The taste is very sweet - but very good all the same. This recipe is ideal for kids. On note: the recipe says it makes 24 potatoes - yes, if you want teeny sized ones. You can easily make larger potatoes if you like - I would say 12 larger size poatoes would be more like it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
55 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Jennifer K.
Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2009
Awesome Irish potatoes! This recipe is just like the ones I remember getting from a bakery in Pennsylvania (Philly area). I actually made a bunch for a party and used amounts the recipe says to use for 120 servings. It sounds like alot but it definitely didn't make 120 balls. I used 1 cup less of confectioners sugar because of the reviews here saying the recipe was too sweet. I also added 1/2 teaspoon of vanilla extract to the recipe. One tip is to not use a lot of cinnamon in the bag. Only put maybe 1-2 Tablespoons in the bag and place about 6 or 8 balls in it and shake. When I placed all of the recommended cinnamon in the bag the potatoes had too much on them and tasted awful, a mouthful of cinnamon. ick. One other tip is to have one hand slightly wet with water---when rolling this keeps the balls moist and allows them to roll up nicely. Great recipe overall!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
53 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2004
I made this with my students, scaling back the ingredients to 1/4 cup of p.s. and coconut and 1 1/2 tsp. of cream. We made it in plastic sandwich bags. It turned out great and tasted great too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
42 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2001
I had to bring in a sample of an Irish food for a school project. Each of the kids in my class got one (they liked not having to share) - they were a hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2004
This recipe was easiest candy recipe I ever made. Be sure to use high quality cinnimon. Cheap cinnimon can taste tart.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2005
Splendid recipe! These irish potatoes taste just like the ones that I remember from childhood. I introduced a few people to them and they've been after me for more because they enjoyed them so much. What a treat!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2008
Just made these for st patrick's day...my picky daughters loves them. They were easy to make and I used milk instead of cream (all I had).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sudbury, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Whitby, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2007
Great recipe! I made these last second for some St. Patty's giggles, and fed them to two guys who don't normally like coconut. They loved 'em. They never really firmed up, but I was told that's part of their charm.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2001
My 6 and 7 year old daughters loved making these. They were easy to make and yummy to eat. We will definately make these again!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2006
For a work St. Patty's Day pot luck, I made these as garnish for a platter of sugar cookies. Everyone LOVED them! Very, very cute!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 42) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Irish Potato and Chive Casserole

See how to put a creamy, flavorful twist on regular mashed potatoes.

Irish Soda Bread Cookies

Turn the flavors of soda bread into quick-and-easy cookies.

Irish Stew

This classic stew is hearty, easy, and delicious.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States